Upvoting self and the benefits of not upvoting (yourself)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

There have been some topics about upvoting yourself and I've had some serious thought about it. I'm trying to pick a different approach than what I've seen before.

I can't force anyone to stop upvoting themselves. I've been upvoting my own posts, not my comments much, but mostly every post. Now as voting power is declining faster, I've started to feel a bit bad for using it for my own posts.

When I upvote myself, I get the small bit of awards I can.


Will it give me anything useful? Not really.
Is it making me feel good about myself? No.
Does it feel like I'm a good writer? No.

The best feeling I get is from other people upvoting me. It's not (only) about the awards, but I want to get the feeling people are liking my posts. That they are giving thanks for me putting my effort in this. The feeling of admiration. I can think I'm doing something well, I'm doing something right.
The feeling is mostly what I'm after

Awards are only bonus and mostly help me build up my SP to give something nice to others later on.

If I spend my voting power by not upvoting my own posts, I can upvote more on everybody else. It's other peoples posts which need and deserve my upvotes, not mine. I can make someone else happy by upvoting, I won't feel the difference if I'm upvoting my own post or not.

I recommend you all to do the same. I'm not saying you should do that, but it's a nice thing to do.

I want to get my credit from others, not from myself.

Here, have a photo!
2013 - 34.JPG

Sort:  

I'm going to try that tactic.

I upvote myself prolly twice a day but vast majority is spent upvoting others that I enjoy. Feels good to give IMO and its nice when others upvote me so its good to spread it around!

Ah, it's true twice a day isn't that much. However, I'm starting to feel.. what if I could use those two upvotes I give myself to other people?

This will require more work though. Luckily I'm going off the grid for weekend (more or less) so I can regain some voting power for next week :)

Nice post, and nice photo, lol.
:)

Thanks, I know cats are the best :)

Bold initiative, @apsu.

Thanks, it could be a big change for most people and most people aren't interested in doing this, but if even one person stops upvoting themselves to save voting power, I'm happy.

Hello, @apsu.

Nice post. I found it whilst rsearching this topic, as I am writing a post about it now. I feel that those that upvote themselves are missing the pont and if not, then I am.

I have stated that in a sharing community, isn't it a little selfish to even upvote youself once, using 10% of the voting power that you have to use daily?

Anyway, I must continue with the research, but there may be one reason for maybe upvoting the self, which is that you are adding curation value, so curators would get more money and this would be especially pertinent for a whale, I think, although it would be weird as well to upvote yourself, knowing your post will be upvoted, unless you have an already dedicated following. But, other than this, I really can't find a good reason to upvote yourself and maybe I'm wrong for doing this, or reacting this way, but if I see that the poster has upvoted themselves, I am reticent from upvoting, but still sometimes do, as the content is so good and I forgive them, but plagiarism and upvoting yourself don't sit too well with me and until I am maybe educated about something that I am missing, I will continue to produce and support original work and shary people :).

Thanks for the comment, I'm happy you found this even though it's an old post. Just about the topic, I've started to upvote myself again in part of my posts, as it doesn't only give it the upvotes but posts get certain visibility based on the upvotes.

I'm still not proud of it when I do it, but I can see why people are doing it.

Still this is a sharing community and a social media built on interacting with others. People should focus on upvoting others more, based on whatever reasons. Like I'm all up to the fact many people avoid upvoting those who upvote themselves or if they upvote or don't upvote for any reason X.

I'm happy you seem to have a good sense of what you want to do and how you want the community to develop. People like you are the power that can change Steemit to be an even better place, please keep up the good work :)

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60951.51
ETH 3381.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48