Brief look on how to avoid being scammed

in #steemit6 years ago

As SBD and Steem values increase, more and more people will attempt different methods to get access to your account to steal your money from your Steem wallet. There are traditional kind of assholes too, who want to harm you and your computer outside Steemit too, creating backdoors to your computer or infecting with malicious software.

What not to do

  • First of all, you should not use your "master password" for everyday logins. You should avoid giving master password or private owner key anywhere. Try to keep using private posting key as much as you can - even if you enter this to a phising site, you will not lose your money.
  • Avoid clicking links on Steemit unless you 100% trust the person. There are very many sites mimicing Steemit with similar url as Steemit has, trying to trick you to give your keys to them. Be very wary of links in Steemit posts, comments or on chat/Discord!
  • Do not give your keys to untrustworthy third party apps.
  • Don't eat yellow snow.
  • Especially in the chat and on Discord, avoid any situations where someone promises you upvotes for Steem - especially if they want you to send the Steem to a trading site. Anyone can pretend to be another user on the chat and on Discord.

What to do

  • Keep your password safe. The best solution is having at least two copies in offline location.
  • Prefer using private posting key as much as you can.
  • Always check the url to be correct when entering your keys on any site or service.
  • If you are suspicious, check the trustworthiness of a service before giving your keys anywhere. Two minds are greater than one. Have at least one smart friend who you can trust.
Sort:  

Thanks for sharing that great information @apsu
You already explained me a lot about this in chat. But there are some more points which I didn't know (like phishing technique to get password's).
I always try to use my posting key (Hradly used my master password).

As they say, you can always learn something new :) I'm glad you're using the posting key

Yellow snow! I didn't get this tip anywhere.
I think you just saved me :)

Happy to help :)

Some excellent advice there! Thank you

You're welcome, nobody should lose their money for silly mistake of "I didn't know".

Thanks for the helpful tips apsu :)

You're welcome Mrs.Lauren! :)

As a (relatively?) new user, I can use it as my ABC of Steemit. 😋

Well as a fellow Finn (??) (!!!!!) I would hope someone wrote these tips also in Finnish, so we don't have to think too much :)

That’s an excellent idea! 💡

I'm usually quite good at noticing scams and I know a lot about them but since I'm new on Steemit I'll try to be careful. I will have to keep my eyes open but I guess I'll be fine

People are always experimenting with new scams, so it's best to keep your eyes open :) Sometimes even the skillful ones get tricked.

Thx for the advice..! 🙌

Two minds are greater than one

Thats what i do when i m going to signup/click any external websites..!
and thx to this community that i met a lot of helpful frnds who guide me to the best of steemit world..!! 🤗
Stay blessed..!😇
~Tennis Girl 🎾🎾

Well you are welcome in many ways :)
I'll stay obsessed!

Be a better bread everyday..! 👌🤣

Not eating yellow snow will definitely help with this. :D

But hey, which is obvious for most of us is not obvious for everyone. My one-year-old spotted yellow snow yesterday and he was very curious to investigate it. Had to carry him away from there xD

Aww. Yellow snow is like seeing a gold vein in a mountainside. It calls for you...

Lol, don’t eat yellow snow!
Always good advice!

Sadly, not all of us know that!
I'm glad I can support the community with this advice ;)

TL; DR.. some how ended up eating snow of a unique color.. but also added my keys to another offline location too. Small victory?

Oh well, hopefully the snow was tasty, as there are plenty of flavor options in the amazing world of snow.

Having keys in another offline location is always a victory. We had one user on Steemit.chat who had somehow managed to wipe the external drive he had his keys on.

And it was the only place he had stored the keys. Had something like 200-400 SP on the account too, so it did cost him some money instead of buying another flash drive for an extra copy of passwords.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66932.02
ETH 3099.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74