A Facebook Post! - Because Steemit never changes, Steem HF is still on the way

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

People have been stating "Steemit is like Facebook with rewards". That's what I've heard multiple times during this almost two year time I've been on Steemit.

I have to admit, Steemit is nothing like Facebook. Well there are some similarities, but the differences..

Facebook has a UI which is comfortable to use. There are plenty of features on Facebook which make it even nicer to use, even if you wouldn't need them all. Facebook has notifications which work! Facebook can actually have some interesting posts which people write for fun, not to get some money. On Facebook you can have conversations with people who do not comment just in hopes of getting money.

Well of course, Facebook also is taking advantage of your data, they're hiding posts from you based on their algorithms and most content on Facebook is just shared from elsewhere. "Hey read this article, watch this video, see this photo someone else took!"

But what is fine and great with both Steemit and Facebook is how slowly they make any changes their userbase is wishing for. The only new feature on Steemit I've seen is that for a moment, they removed the possibility to change payout method (50-50, Power up or Decline rewards) while writing the post itself, as you had to do it through settings. Facebook is also known for being extremely slow to make any changes, unless if it's a change you don't want.

However, today I noticed something new on Facebook.

Facebook.PNG

Just look at that. You can give positive and negative points to comments. It's not really innovative, but this is maybe a step closer to the "Thumb down" people wished for and got "Sad/Angry reactions". It however seems that you cannot check who have been giving you positive and negative points.

Also it seems you cannot do it in your personal posts and in the comments, but instead in group/company/community posts.

Not sure if this is a feature people have been asking for or if it's giving any additional value to Facebook, but this just made me think of Steemit.

As some still see Steem as "blockchain made for Steemit", it's sad how Steemit is lagging behind in development. The poor UI of Steemit is pushing people away from Steem and they might not come back. Some say Steemit is the official service to use Steem on and due to this, some might not even consider touching in alternatives like SteemPeak.

"It's not official!"

I wish I had something interesting to write about Steemit itself. I've been far too lazy on Steem anyway. I've been writing a separate post about stuff related to that, but it's left as a draft when I got kind of happy about a new feature on Facebook.

Luckily we're having a HF coming up. If nothing else, we might get more posts about "Oh my god, Steem is down! STEEM IS DOWN!" but I was kind of disappointed how few posts like this I saw during the bug few days ago. Back in the good old days you could earn almost $100 worth by writing a post "Hey Steemit is down", like people wouldn't had noticed it otherwise.

Good old days.

Sort:  

Can't remember when last time made a post or a comment using steemit. Before busy, now steempeak and for mobile, obviously partiko. I don't see any reason to go back to steemit.

That's the spirit @hafiz34 and you seem to be doing good without Steemit :)

fishbook....could that be a function that they are trying for a block chain integration for FB? Hmmmmmmmmmmm.

That's a very good question.

No.

Yes it is dissapointing not to see some minor design changes in every environment. Even though it is not something hard technically. I use busy for example almost just for its notification feature. why? cause it saves time. In my opinion human and environment can only go forward in positive way if there is enough change (functional or esthetic) between the two. Not big changes we are talking about, minor but right ones which can cause pretty good positive effects.

I miss the notifications (they were here when I joined) but now I've just learned to check "Replies" every time I check Steemit. At least if I'm in the mood.

But you're right, usually the things people are wishing for are nothing major and require a lot of work. They are minor changes.

All my steemit friends are bots :O

A good photo friend, upvote me.

Nothing like a good old rant! ;-)

I got rants in my pants and I like it!

What wait? The long, eternal wait... FOREVER

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63608.16
ETH 2621.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77