Just reached 100 followers and here's a brief summary of my experience so far.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago

I know I'm not the only one who dislikes the term followers.. But hey. It is what it is I guess.
Figured I'd make a lil update post like a lot of people do on here when they reach a certain amount of followers. And.. I'd like to request mutual follows as well!
So far I've been here around a month I think.. Made a lil over 100$ which isn't great compared to many people, but.. I think it's pretty neat.. Especially cause I never made a cent on Facebook over like 6 years of posting like that.
Plus most of the people I've met have been pretty awesome.

I'm enjoying my time here, I've pulled at least 5-10 people over from Facebook to steemit and every time I have a post that makes at least like $10.. I make a post on Facebook to show people and remind people and to continue to try to drag them away from Facebook.. Cause I personally want to see something better take its place, something that rewards the users more.
Regardless of the monetary incentive, steemit allows me to reach a bunch of people I never would have probably reached before. So I'm enjoying just talking to a bunch of new people and sharing with them. Plus this platform is less censored.. I've had a bunch of stuff censored and been banned on Facebook before.

My minor complaint is, I'd like to see more profile individualization which I've mentioned before and so have others, like profile pictures and stuff to set yourself a part more like cover photos and such.
My major complaint, is this "transaction broadcast error" thing.. This thing has plagued me since the beginning. Oftentimes it won't let me post, unless I do weird acrobatics with the text and move it all around or shorten it, or if I just wait like minutes or hours or a day, usually it will eventually go through.

Super frustrating at times but hey.. I'm still here and using steemit. It's not so bad I've quit. Though I hope they can figure out what it is, or someone can help me with some kind of solution.. So far no one has been able to and I've made a few posts about it and searched google quite a bit on other peoples threads to try to find out and haven't found much.
By the way.. Anyone who follows me I will follow back. You don't have to leave a comment cause I tend to look through my list from time to time and follow anyone back who followed me, but it helps if you do leave a comment, I will follow you much quicker and I won't miss it.

If you don't follow me back, I'll probably eventually unfollow you at some point, nothing personal. Right now I'm interested in doing mutual follows and keeping my number close to even.
I don't know if this is the best strategy, but I've seen quite a few others do it, and as someone more interested in reaching people than making money.. It seems like the way to go..

Hmm.... And.. That's about it for now I think.. Just one more thing.
Are you out there?
I'm going to post this again here even though I just posted it recently cause I feel like it deserves more views and I need to share my artwork more often! (Especially right around the election as it's more relevant than ever)

PS.. Here's a couple other episodes of my new Vlog type thing I'm working on that I'd like to plug as well.

This one is on the election, voting and Trump or Hillary?

And this one is more of an introduction if you'd like to get to know more about me, and this one definitely covers some stuff I didn't really mention in my #introducemyself post.

PSPS I'm still pretty new to making movies, so.. Some of this is a bit crude! Though I'm working at it and doing my best with what I know and have! :)

Sort:  

Congrats on your now 500+ followers! A lot can change in 7 months, huh? I just started Steem and building followers. I'm still learning to generate quality content and practice good steemit etiquette. It's encouraging to see steemers grow. I hope to see my followers (and steem) increase over the next seven months also. With diligence I believe this will happen. Let's all grow together! Steem on! @ironshield

Congratulations on reaching 100 followers! I'm even newer than you are, and I too am liking Steemit way more than fb. I've been spinning my wheels over there for years, and getting nowhere in expanding my reach as a herbalist writer, or making connections with like-minded people. The atmosphere here is way more dynamic. I haven't made a ton of Steem either, but I've gotten way more credit and conversation here than I ever have on other social media. I'm very grateful for it. And I like your approach of posting over there once in a while to try to draw in new users. I might have to copy that!

Thanks! Glad to hear you're liking it here too. I agree the atmosphere is much better here and it seems more engaging.
I would totally suggest using Facebook and steemit together! You could end up improving how your steemit posts do as well cause people on Facebook might see them and then vote or comment. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

I agree with you. What you said it is true, there are some technical things to improve but the people around here are funny and awesome

Yeah.. I mean it is still in beta. So it's much more understandable, and I think I heard they will do the profile customization stuff in time. I imagine they will figure out the transaction broadcast error as well.. So.. I do think in time my two concerns will be gone. :)

And yeah.. So far I've really enjoyed meeting most of the people on here! Seems like a very likeminded community, but also very diverse as well! It's an interesting combination.

Technology development require some research time, test time and i guess devs are doing a good job, because steem is real and not just an idea like many icos.

What's "icos"? Was that a typo or an abbreviation for something? I'm not sure what that means.

True. Though at times that error can be crippling. Sometimes I just gotta.. Stop posting for a day, and come back.. But.. I mean.. All of the other plusses totally outweigh not being able to post from time to time. It's frustrating, yet.. The positives totally make it worth it. :)

ICO = Initial Coin Offering
It's similar to an IPO, it's a way to crowdsale and idea to start a news crypto business.

Ah! I see. Thanks for the info.

Congrats to your first 100 followers :)
@followed

Thank you, and thanks for the follow as well! I followed you back. ._.

Hello @apolymask,

It gives us pleasure to inform you that this post have been upvoted by Project Better.

The Mission of Project Better is to reward posts have many votes from Minnows but earn pennies.
Your payout is $0.006 before we vote on your post.

Learn more about the Project Better here! ,
Want to donate your voting power to support Project Better and earn curation rewards? Click Here!

We hope to see you continuing to post some great stuff on Steemit!

Good luck!

~BETTER~

Awesome! I checked out your note and I think it's a great idea what you're doing. Thanks better!

Congrats on your first 100 followers @apolymask

Thanks pilgrimtraveler!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62134.47
ETH 2417.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54