You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Great Reputation System. That's What We Need.

in #steemit8 years ago

If we're going to try to enforce "nice and kind" here, I'm out. That's why I gave up on reddit. I'm interested in truth and sometimes, no matter how hard one tries, the truth just isn't kind. I've been really disappointed at the lack of curation here lately and the direction that the site is going so I've been calling people on their BS, and sometimes, particularly when I'm out of weed, I just don't care to put the kid gloves on. I'm down with preventing gaming and spam but if the polite police show up here, this site will suck.

Sort:  

There is a balance that can be made. It's not necessary to go in to full-on troll mode. That is the kind of thing we don't want. I want the truth to prevail as well. Being nasty in order to tell others what you think the truth is doesn't do anyone any good. They turn off to the "truth" as you see it and then you've wasted everyone's time. Better for you to just write out your comment, bask in it's glory, then delete it. You get your catharsis and nobody else has to suffer.

On the flip side we need to be able to listen to critical views and not cry. Some of us are too sensitive, and need to harden our skin. Others are too invested in their ideas to be able to listen to contrary views and need to lighten up and not think that others have any valid opinions.

Anyway, this is a new community and thus we have the opportunity to shape it to some degree. Let's work on that while the system is still relatively small. A system for keeping the trolls at bay and to incentivize kindness, without being heavy-handed and without censoring is possible. Just letting the "free market" fix everything is a pipedream. The free market of ideas needs some level of molding. Not a lot, just enough.

This platform is already dead to me. I'm so disgusted by the ignorant stuff that the whales are upvoting, the quality of content that people are posting, the lack of discussion, and the general ignorance here that this will be my last comment/post. Best of luck trying to out engineer stupid. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62639.70
ETH 2439.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64