How many active Users with influence has Steemit?

in #steemit8 years ago

So happy 40.000 user on Steem.

But it is time to celebrate or to be concerned?

If you look into the numbers on Steemd.com

only 2600 people holds more then 800$ worth of assets on steem. If you do not be concerned by this numbers, I be!

So we have 40.000 accounts, but only 2600 accounts are "invested" or got something from this platform. This is just a little more then 6%.

If one coder @xeroc @roelandp etc. could provide a source to check how active the accounts are and how rewarded they be. I think this could help dramatically.

What i suspect is, that most of the "active" community are not rewarded and this should be fixed, to keep them steeming.

Sort:  

Since on Steem(it) there is a reward >0, anything that is paid out to users can be seen as money they wouldn't have received on any other platform. So they that's already a profit.

As for the number of "invested" people, you need to remember that Steem has only launched 4 months ago. If you think of a startup that has 40k people knowing about it and 2600 investors (crowdfunding style), then I'd call that a success.

The core concept of Steem is that over time, the money trickles from investors to endusers (which then also become partly an investor because of the SP/SD split for blogging rewards).
Assuming the market cap stays flat, only those "investors" profit from the platform that actually take part and post, vote, comment. Else, they will make a loss. Then of course investors can also profit from the growth of the network and market cap.

Also, investing into Steem is at least as risky as any other startup because you can only get fully out of it after 2 full years.

So, I am not concerned about these figures at all. At least they show we have a growing user base and we certainly bring crypto to the masses!

true, but my concern is, that we do not distribute the money wisely. Many are active with commenting or trying to bring usefull information, but i think that we spread the rewards not wide enough. To detect good content or at least users who are really trying is a pain in the ass. This should the focus, to make everyone's life better.

Money will be distributed over time. Given whales vote for anyone but them selves.

ok, but this will not help, because i just create 2 accounts. I do not think this is a problem. The problem is that we have to less people with voting power to get recognized.

I couldn't but help notice your username is very clever. hustlin :)

Minnows risk only time. Whales risk their money, so they get more money. All is fair.

One thing to keep assets and other cash

Please read into the pareto principle. Whoever created this place we call reality didnt have equality of outcome in mind. Its the 80/20 principle in action. THE PERCENTAGE wont change but the NOMINAL number of people who are in each category will increase. All complains stem from the misunderstanding about the law of uneven distribution.

i know this principle, we will see if the distribution will change. My concern is, that the whales have to much voting power and can't monitor 24/7 so it is highly biased to the timeframes and what a whale likes.

the whale will increase in proportion to the amount of users. Give it a few months and enough people would have went up the ladder.

Hello,
I kind of understand where you are coming from. You joined 2 weeks ago just like me with 10 SP. I am one of the "lucky ones" according to your theory as I have $849.56 at the moment though I do not know why you chose the $800 limit. Why not the $80 or $8000? But that money did not just appear on my balance. As you can see I did not post a lot but those were my own original thoughts with my own pictures. I am not saying yours are not your own originals! My author rewards roughly $52. That is not a lot but I am very grateful for that. I have not written since because I did not want to write just for the sake of if or for the money. How come I have $850? You cannot just invest your time, effort in steemit to make it succeed for all, but also your money. It is a startup. If you believe in it there are other ways to increase your voting power. Transferring a few bitcoins for your steemit account would do the trick.

I chose 800 $ because with your vote you can change something. With less, it counts not much. Yeah, we should discuss this. Do i need always own pictures or is it ok to use free resources? Do i really need to write only my own or is it not good to share information i found useful? Good points, we should talk about.

I do not think you need your own pictures and I also have seen "copy-pasted" content to earn some dollars too. It is really up to the community. If they like it you will be doing fine. You can see some crazy money here just as in real life. Steemit mimics the real life well I think. You might know some hard working people earning peanuts and ones who does not seem to work nearly as hard earning more. But that is life and this is not always the case. BTW, as regarding my curation rewards I have earned 0.392 SP ($1) so far so I would not consider the $800 group quite influential.

then the group with influence is much smaller. Just 700 accounts. This is really concerning. I will look into it on a regular basis. The expectation is, that this will get better over time; I think this will not change a lot. 700 accounts are 1.8% of all accounts.

Let us say you create a business with your hard earned money and your precious time. It grows huge. You become the biggest shareholder. You are the whale in your own company. People get interested and want to contribute to your idea so they jump in. Would you give away your shares for the newcomers for free?

If people don't get rewarded, they are not doing a good job. Man, I have been working my ass of like crazy here. I was only getting pennies. Last week I finally wrote 1 article that made me $600. But people expect they deserve to get everything easy and free. If you don't have boobs, you are gonna have to work hard to get money on here. But instead of crying about it, why not see it as a challenge ? Especially now as we are early adopters. If you manage to get a decent amount of Steem here now, it could be very interesting for the future.

Stay chill and keep steeming.

good for you. But before this post you got nearly nothing. I am just concerned that most people will get turned off and leave before they every started. Hope someone can get some facts from the data we have.

So what do you want to happen ? You want the whales to gift everybody $1000 a month ? It doesn't work like that. If you want to make money, you will need to find a way to set yourself apart from others. While I was making all these failing posts, I was learning. I know better now how to make a better post. Even though I still suck because even though I am making more money now, it is not that impressive.

There are other ways to make money. There are people that standard upvote you when you reply their posts. Follow those people. They will gift you free money anytime you reply. Follow the posts in the NEW section. Whenever you think there is an interesting post that you think will be upvoted a lot, upvote it so you get curation rewards later.

But you have a very important point though. People are here just for the money. So from that perspective something is wrong with Steemit. Facebook doesn't give you even a penny but everyone (except me ;-)) is on Facebook. So if people prefer to be on Facebook without getting money, than Steemit still lack something.

you can not give everyone $ 1000 . It is the same that everybody will make it in life. But i think we could lower the enty a lot, to spread the rewards better.

Yes, I can't disagree on that.

But also note that your statistics aren't fair. Steemit's growth has been exponential. Many people that have low rewards are new people. The 6 % you are talking about are people that are in for a longer time.

As Minnows grow into Tilapias more value will start to spread around the newbie, user, and super user sections. It just takes time and @berniesanders upvotes.

Consider joining our MinnowsUnite Group On Gli.ph
https://gli.ph/g/mT205P/CbFybHevfa12pvgQqtZgt50coGG6ZTyxDzDyWSXQJ7s=

2642 people holds more then 800$ worth of assets on steem. They hold all the cards. We are just minor players.

Lol. So I became one of those people by luck a few days ago. Now I can give people $0.01 when I upvote them. You can hardly say I belong to the elite, can you ? XD.

Many people are posting just because of money and they get disappointed when the reward is not coming.

I saw people with real stories and $1-$2-$3-$4-$5 maximum earnings but also people who promise that will eat their socks if the post will get $2000 and he has $150 in earnings.

Is not fair i know but people has to change their mentality of giving/getting rewards.

I disagree. The whole point of Steem to get rewarded. I think the voting power is to concentrated and is biased to the things the 6% of the wealthy likes and don't like. I think Steem can grow if we spread the rewards to more people.

@ape upvoting because it's a good topic to discuss. You already stopped by my post where I explain similar concerns from a different perspective and I appreciate it and wanted to return the favor.

Thanks!

Interesting post. Well done :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64460.09
ETH 3150.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54