You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Steemit] Spam, Plagiarism and Flagging

in #steemit6 years ago

I really try to site my sources too. As well as being the right thing to do it adds credibility to writing. Sources give me an idea about a writer's bias. Everyone has a bias and it's important to remember that when reading information on the web. Having a bias isn't a "bad" thing either but being aware of it helps frame context and assist with decision making. The online theft of digital works has long been an irritation to me. To be honest I do not think most people do it thinking in their mind they are stealing or doing something wrong. In my opinion it is more just ignorance and not thinking things through so I'm glad you posted about it to help further education.

Sort:  

Some excellent points there, especially that including sources gives your writing a certain credibility. We all have our biases, even if you try to challenge them they still come through at times. But like you say, that's certainly not a bad thing.
Yeah that's the feeling I get, it's not necessarily done maliciously, however laziness and ignorance aren't a good defense. Especially with this case, they'd clearly been warned before about their posts, and eventually got blacklisted. I was ready to jump to their defense, but I ended up agreeing with @abusereports

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59185.23
ETH 2319.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46