You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Attention ALL: Steemit Needs More Manual Curators for Future Success

in #steemit5 years ago

I've been preaching the gospel of manual curation for a long time but the odds are stacked against us as long as the bid bots negate the incentive to curate for quality of user contributions.

Nevertheless, I still manually curate as often as I can and also support quality authors via a curation trail but the sad truth as bid bot front runners will have the advantage. That is those that can preemptively vote content when they detect large bids in hopes of fat curation rewards. It's not about building communities or promoting the most shit hot content but to chase the network incentive.

These fail to realize the incentives that extend beyond the network. The metaphorical putting our "best foot forward" and showing the world the best if what Steem has.

I'm glad you wrote this post but it's tough for our kind but perhaps we will one day have a hero mega whale that will turn this place upside down..

One can only hope.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Yeah, it really is quite a stretch. I’ve been on Steem for just over a year now and I have come to realize that support is few and far between. Without bid bots I would have long been discouraged and left steemit due to lack of manual curation on posts I took hours to publish.

I would love for this place to be the next “go to,” or— more appropriately, the first “monetized social media” platform to disrupt this space. As good as this sounds to the ear, the likelihood, at this point, seems slim to none. But like anything else, you never know until the stone is turned completely over. It’s early. Extremely early. For now, I’m just trying to stack as much SP as humanly possible in hopes that this thing shoots to the moon in the next 4-7 years ...

Cheeers mate,

Thanks for dropping by 🙏🏼

Posted using Partiko iOS

Do you understand that every time you give the bid bots your liquid Steem you are giving their delegators incentive to NOT manually curate?

They keep their delegations with the bot so they can sit on their ass and be rewarded for nothing. All the while people like you talk about Steem needing more manual curation.

Perhaps, you did not see the inconsistency in that but hopefully you understand now how the two are diametrically opposed.

I have posted hundreds of articles without the use of a bid bot to no prevail. If the manual curation doesn’t come at all, even when artificial upvotes aren’t cast, then what alternative is there to tend to? I believe I speak for the vast majority here, even if you agree to disagree. I am very interested to hear what you have to say. I completely respect your utmost opinion on the matter.

Much respect
@conradsuperb

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah, I know it sucks.

Here are my recommendations:

  • Try out the #nobidbot tag (obviously you can't use bots in those)
  • Leverage various Discord #postpromotion channels and steem.chat. Hang out, get to know people. Build rapport amongst members of the community.
  • Participate in curation leagues and initiatives. Build those relationships in earnest and you will succeed.
  • Find a niche. Engage that niche. Could be yoga, philosophy, abuse fighting, coding, gaming or anything that you feel you have something to offer.
  • Leverage other social media to promote. Twitter, Facebook, the /r/steemit subreddit and Minds Steem groups.

Understand that sometimes content will not get a lot of support. It doesn't necessarily mean you failed but could be an indication that there is room for improvement. Embrace both the successes and failures to grow.

The bot owners will sell you the narrative that you need them but you don't have to buy it.

We contribute less to their influence and the influence of our kind will grow. They need to be choked out like the weeds they are.

Sorry if I came out harsh but I have strived against the idea if them for so long. Even when Steem was $8 dollars and before that.

Now, that it's at a fraction of it's former BTC price, believe people are starting to wake up.

Thanks for the insight, I appreciate the words of wisdom and will use them along my journey. It is only up from her, my friend 🙏🏼

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57440.51
ETH 2911.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66