Help a Newbie Understand Steemit Better -- Questions for the community

in #steemit7 years ago



Hello fellow Steemians! I have been in the community for about 2 months now, and although there had been FAQs posted already, there are still a couple of questions I have in mind as a newbie. I suppose there aren't any written Code of Conduct here in Steemit, which happens to be both of a boon and a bane. However, this often leaves us newbies confused or curious as to how to "act" properly in the community.

I will definitely love to have some discussions, but I'll leave the questions here open first. Warning: this can be a lot.


Questions from a Newbie

  1. Is it okay to upvote one's own post? Is there such thing as "excess upvoting" of one's post? Do you get viewed as selfish when doing so?
  2. How about when it comes to comment? Is it alright to upvote own comments? 
  3. If no dolphins/whales notice us, do we still have the chance to be "successful" here in Steemit?
  4. Is it okay to spin/cross-post articles from a personal blog? I noticed others do this, but I am not sure whether this is truly acceptable, and whether this generates value.
  5. Given that we rely on upvotes, is Steemit more for extroverts than introverts?
  6. Can we prosper having no knowledge and/or participation to bots and other open source groups? 
  7. Can Steemit really be "gamed", as I have been reading over the past few days?



Below are some of the reasons and/or observations that inspired me to ask the questions.

On #1 and #2 - When I reached the SP voting power that allowed my upvote to have a value of $0.01, I felt a surge of happiness, and then I realized that I can upvote my own posts and comments, which will then guarantee me a value (although a small one). This got me thinking, is this a common practice? Do people frown about those who upvote their own posts and comments?


On #4 - I am a local food and travel blogger here in my country, and there are times when I feel an urge to share some articles from my blog. I saw a few who did this, but something within me tells me that I should not. Or at least I need to work my way from there to still have something "original".



Although I have bits and pieces of answer to these questions, I really want to get more insights from the community itself. In the process of discovering how I can contribute to this community, I want to make sure that I'm abiding by the implied "Code of Ethics" here in Steemit. After all, we all want to have peaceful cohabitation within this community. Cheers!


All images used in this post are hand-crafted by yours truly. Feel free to follow @anotsopopularkid for my adventures.

Thank you very much for the time!

Sort:  

Is it okay to upvote one's own post? Is there such thing as "excess upvoting" of one's post? Do you get viewed as selfish when doing so?
Go ahead and upvote you post, most do it. No one's going to blame you but I don't. It does help when your starting out. So go ahead.
How about when it comes to comment? Is it alright to upvote own comments?
This is generally frowned upon, in rare cases when you feel you have an amazing comment and you want to bump it, that's kinda ok, but don't make a habit of this.
If no dolphins/whales notice us, do we still have the chance to be "successful" here in Steemit?
YES!, you minnow friends will all grow with you, it just takes time. The others will notice too, if your adding god quality to the community.
Is it okay to spin/cross-post articles from a personal blog? I noticed others do this, but I am not sure whether this is truly acceptable, and whether this generates value.
Kinda, it may get flagged by Cheetah, if the whole damn thing is copy paste, take some exerpts, clean it up a bit, ad a new intro, and mention that it's from your old personal blog. Just don't try to chop it out and paste it here as new stuff.
Given that we rely on upvotes, is Steemit more for extroverts than introverts?
It's the internet, I think introverts are fine. alot of my posts are my inner monologues at times.
Can we prosper having no knowledge and/or participation to bots and other open source groups?
Sure, but I would recommend getting involed in some groups, steemit is about community, and co-operation, once you make this your focus the votes and followers will come.
Can Steemit really be "gamed", as I have been reading over the past few days?
Maybe, if you really want to, but I don't think that's the spirit of the community.

Good luck, I also made this exact post today you may find helpful.

Thank you very much for the time in sharing yours insights. It's really good that I stumbled upon @minnowsupport. It feels great to be part of something, and this group has a strong support system.

Such a coincidence on the post. I'll be stopping by. Thanks again!

I think so people already everything so best of luck. 😁🍌💪

Loading...

Ok, wow, I've been meaning to ask these questions so thank you for doing so man and THANK YOU, AWESOME PEOPLE, FOR OFFERING YOUR INSIGHTS! I don't know why I did all caps there, but yep...that's just me. I shout randomly from time to time?

Winny out ;)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @anotsopopularkid to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by anotsopopularkid from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83