To Critique a $0.41 #introduceyourself ?

in #steemit8 years ago

Writing isn't new to me. I've been doing it for years, have made a few bucks off it and enjoy an engaging style. So I am pretty excited about Steemit. After lurking for a bit, I wrote out my intro, Another Joe Jumps on the Steem Boat. Actually, I was pretty happy with it.

So, what happened? It kinda bombed. I mean, I got some readers who voted for it, but it just didn't get any traction to make a real dent. So I ended up with just under half a buck. FWIW, I had looked over as many #introduceyourself advice articles I could find. That's why I highlight the things I do below.

What went wrong? Seriously. I thought I did all the right things. Oh, it's missing a personal picture and my last name. Other than that, it seems to have ticked the boxes. And it wasn't forced or canned. I was able to do so pretty intuitively. For example:

Format: I used header titles and short paragraphs so it's pretty easy to read.

Tone/Attitude: It's engaging, I think, with a little bit of humor mixed in. Maybe too little? Maybe too much? It was upbeat, encouraging, etc.

Images: Yeah, got some of those. Nothing exciting, but they fit the flow nicely. And I even centered them!

Asset to Steemit: Well, I shared some of what I've done and that I'd be writing about the same. Seems relevant.

Open: It was somewhat self-deprecating, but no overly so. I certainly didn't try to oversell myself. I'm just me, so I tried to convey that.

But then I got my grade back, and -

Now, I know some folks have a following before they land here. So they get some really amazing intro scores, even when they don't really bother to say much more than, "Hi, I'm here now". It's understandable, and I'm happy for them. But I want to know if there's really a good intro that makes it, or if it's just hit and miss? Does a whale need to come along, or a curator or however that stuff works?

I'm also not posting this to get more votes on my intro. As I saw it spiraling into obscurity, I waited until the last second to even start writing this. 

I am not complaining. Really, I just want to offer value and enjoy the ride here with friends, new and old.

So, what do you think? What could I have done better? What did I miss?

Rockin' on!
Another Joe

Sort:  

I have read all your posts but apparently I missed this one. And I'm glad I read it now, because I love your writing-skill and your subjects.

Don't give up on your treat, because more people will come to Steem and like your blog. I was following you already and I'll keep doing that :-)

Thanks @awakening. This is very encouraging.

I think a big part of the successful posts have been:

A. One or more whales
B. Already having a following elsewhere that you are able to migrate on to Steem.it so you have a built in audience of fans
C. Both A and B combined.

I don't see anything to indicate that you'd have a huge payday without these.

Yeah, seems like when a whale hits it, you get a nice jump and others see it. I think mine flew under the radar.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66603.07
ETH 3335.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70