There's no censorship on Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I'm almost sure I've written a post like this a while back. If I have or if I haven't, here are my thoughts about this topic.

Whenever a heated debate starts here on this platform and the flags start rolling out, it's almost inevitable that the word "censorship" is brought in the discussion by one or more users. The last example of this that I saw was when @ned downvoted the two most recent posts from @eosio and @dan. Some Steemians accused @ned of trying to censor those two posts, which is just silly.

In my view, people who mention "censorship" in these situations are either using the word without understanding what it means or they are trying to manipulate and sway the public opinion on the topic that's being discussed in a certain direction.

Let's look at the definition of the word "censorship":

image

When it comes to online censorship my view on what it is I think comes close to it's definition.

Let's say user A posts something on an online platform that he is not the owner of. User B then deletes (or makes it unavailable to other users) what user A posted and/or bans/deletes user A from said platform for whatever reasons. That's censorship.

I would like someone to explain to me how does this apply to Steemit. How?

Nobody can delete what you posted on the blockchain. If you receive enough downvotes/flags your post might get hidden. That's not censorship. It's not censorship because any hidden posts can still be viewed by other users and other users can still write comments on those posts by just clicking the "Show hidden" button. It takes one second. How the heck do some users consider that censorship?

I'm being dramatic if I say that our use of language is starting to fail us. Definitions of words are being challenged and interpreted in personal ways daily. What something means to someone, it can mean a different thing to another. The Tower of Multilingual Babel is crumbling.

Maybe once Elon Musk's Neuralink mesh launches and gets to a mass adoption level, we will have an upgrade on our use of language. I'm almost convinced we will. We will be able to communicate instantly, telepathically. We will literally be able to see and feel what the other person means by viewing it through our own personal life experiences. All this with lighting speeds. This will be a huge step in our evolution.

If you're interested in this topic, check out this long and very detailed article: https://waitbutwhy.com/2017/04/neuralink.html

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60777.85
ETH 2609.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65