Millennial Me (Mini-rant alert)

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Being born between the years of 1982 - 2004 has made me one of the estimated 81.1 million labeled with the cringe-worthy, contemptible title of millennial.

I hear about my generation a lot. In fact, you might say the label millennial gets thrown around, and it's really never in a positive way. We are known for being pampered, never knowing hardships, our need for "safe spaces", our inability to function without our phones, and how we've ruined dating by thinking Tinder and serious conversations via text message are the way to develop a lasting relationship. It's true. These things have reared their collective heads as part of a ugly culture shift that is taking over our country with tremendous force. Today's generation worry over things like data limits, unfinished seasons of TV shows on Netflix, and which dairy substitute they should get in their Venti Starbucks (guys, avoid soy. For real though.)

The truth is, we millennials do have our fair share of real struggles. In my generation, relationships between men and women are, at best, a hot mess. It's acceptable, and relatively normal, to date around, never looking for anything more serious than a hookup with whoever you currently find attractive. In an article written about the impact of family structure on children, and society in general, it spoke of how many young adults described marriage as "old fashioned" and "confining", leading them to believe that co-habitation was a healthier way for them to have a relationship, while not giving any more of themselves than required. This fact probably leads directly into the downhill shift in divorce rates, which were reported in 2016 to be at a 40 year low. We're experiencing less divorces, because there are less marriages. Less marriages lead to more children being raised in single parent households, which have been proven to lead to physical, emotional, and academic struggles.

I think a huge disadvantage for my generation was being raised to occupy every spare moment we have focusing on something new. A phone, a game, a text. At any given moment, we are never just here, observing our surroundings, thinking about our futures, pondering deep truths. It's a good thing to not always be occupied. It's a good thing to let our minds wander, to discover and ponder new thoughts and ideas. Instead, we are reading news media, heavily biased one way or another, or other people's tweets, Facebook feeds, or Instagram captions to form our ideas. Talk about the blind leading the blind.

I'm obviously willing to say there are things about my generation that stink, but I won't admit that without pointing to the very obvious elephant in the room.

Simple fact: Cupcake, safe space, Tinder using, head-in-the-cloud (or i-cloud) millennials exist for a very simple reason. Because their parents and teachers groomed them to be that way.

I can already hear the arguments coming my way. Yes, they're adults, yes, a millennial can be as old as 36 right now, and thus can't blame their parents or teachers for their terrible life choices and lack of clear thought. To that I would ask this; who answered their questions, and instilled their values in their formative years? Who gave them the tools to hone their thinking skills or their morals? Who impressed their standards and ideals on them?

Um, yeah. Parents and teachers again.

Millennials: Life has a purpose, and it's a lot more than the dating scene, the technology scene, or our dream job. Morals are extremely important. There is a truth, and the rest are all lies. Every generation has faced their hardships and dilemmas and now it's our turn. We've neither earned nor deserve an easy life. Time to play with the cards we've been dealt.

Parents: If you raise your child to be something you hate, you will hate your children. Oh, and destroy society, but, you know, no biggie.

Image source: http://www.digitalistmag.com/files/2015/03/millennials

Sort:  

Couldn’t agree more. I think as children, we regret our parents not being stricter with us than being more lenient with us.

The lack of discipline and openness of all rules, along with removals of practically all taboos seems to have spiraled us more into chaos than the enlightened freedom many were hoping for...

Simon Sinek talked extensively about how Millenials are getting a bad rep for being stuck in the clouds, and wanting things or ideas that dont work.

I see your point that the parents filled their brains with ideas that they can be anything and given them all they needed that it spoiled them that life is easy.

Then adulting happens and they realize that life is a bitch that is gonna slap them on the face.

It is not solely the fault of parents, educators or society, nor is it the entire fault of the millenials. It just created this perfect storm of having people not being able to adjust to the rigors of society.

I would definitely agree with you that there is plenty of blame to go around. I'm honestly just so tired of hearing 50+ year olds whining about a generation they hold a good portion of responsibility for creating!

Hey there! So, I was born in '83, and when I found out I was lumped in with millenials I couldn't believe it! Then @freedompoint read an article that said we were actually xennials! It was a small space between 1978 and 1984, where we knew a time before technology, but were also raised in it. Not sure if you fall into this, but I found an article if you want to see it! http://beingajile.com/the-xennials-a-micro-generation/

That's super interesting, I've never heard of that before! I am a 90's children so I'm a solid millennial, no fun six year window generational name for me :).

Haha, well with all the wisdom you dropped in this post, I bet you were raised a bit differently. 😊 I would even wager you have older siblings!

Haha, that would be correct! While I am only 23, I have 4 older siblings to keep me humble and informed.

Such an interesting read and perspective, being born back in 1960 I cannot even remember which group I fall into right now tip!

Thank you! I think 1960 is the last year of the Baby Boomers, which is a pretty hefty generation size wise.

Ok then that’s what I must be lol 😂

Ok then that’s what I must be lol 😂

Hi @annaleigh! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Monochrome Monday And A Bit Of Sun Flare Off The Building Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

This post has received a 0.08 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

While I do think that we are the product of our own upbringing, I also believe that the environment where we are brought up plays a huge part in how we perceive and act in the world. If one is brought up in a loving environment, then the tendency for the millennials to feel "self entitled" is much less as opposed to those who were brought up in very harsh neighbourhoods where they had to fight for their place and identity in this world.

I would definitely say that teaching someone from the time they are a child that nothing is an entitlement and all must be worked for cultivates value and gratitude which are two things I see sorely missing amongst some of my peers.

Yes that is true. If a child were taught from young that they must work for what they want, then they will be more appreciative of what they have instead of constantly seeking for handouts and taking the easy way out. Gratitude and contentment is something that must be cultivated, else the constant need to fulfil all the "wants" will only drive one to the edge

My fiance and I were just talking about how we're both barely millenials. I'm now 30 years old, and she's 22, so we both kinda came in toward the beginning and end :)

Yeah, it is amazing how much time it covers. It's odd for me to realize my 13 year old brother is in the same generation as 36 year olds...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ironshield from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

upvote me,please!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64103.87
ETH 2762.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65