You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I just signed up but did NOT receive $10 worth of Steem Power

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

@traderjoe, my reply was for @tinfoilfedora not for your comment (check the nesting alignment).
This comment though is for you, @traderjoe, and I will keep this one very short:

  • read around and see who @dantheman is and then you'll see why I brought him up in the discussion.
  • As from my previous comments below I have put in some effort to get this advertised around. Talk about reading people's posts and comments...
  • I never said you did complain or rant but you're starting to.
  • I know you're new and all, but your first post is really about something negative? If you ever want to be on that trending page you really need to do more than this.

PS. I tried to keep the negativity out of my comments but it's not working. Before you beg to differ you should have first spent some time reading around. Posts that have good information for beginners, watch interviews with the founders and other talks, understand how Steemit works and what is it's purpose long term. That way I shouldn't have had to tell you about the support address ;)

Sort:  

Ok, my bad.
Didn't notice the nesting alignment.
Sorry for that!
Well, i would have had all right to rant/complain..if you want to call it like that (I don't), if that reply was meant for me and not @tinfoilfedora.
But it wasn't meant for me so some things I wrote might don't apply anymore.

But this reply is now for you @anduweb and I will also try to keep it short:

  • The @dantheman comment was meant for @tinfoilfedora, but I guess he is somehow involved with support and development questions. I will look into that, when I have a chance.
  • I did read that you brought up that issue in the chat. And thanked you for that! So I read your posts and understood them pretty well before I replied to them. Even the one for @tinfoilfedora, which would have been a valid response IF it had have been for me ;). And I acknowledged that I mistakenly thought this respond was meant for me.

But it is really not much of a nesting-difference, so it is easily to miss, and can not be compared to "not bother really reading and thinking of the meaning of a post before replying to it".

  • Why has a first post to be about something positive? (A rhetorical question! I don't think there is a written or unwritten rule for that, and if there would be one, I think it should be broken.)
  • My first post was constructive critique, which is, in my point of view, a good thing and should be encouraged in general.
  • It was never my intention to be on the trending page! I didn't even plan on posting anything (or much) at all. I'm more of a reader and voter, not a poster.
  • Btw I don't think the main reason for posting on steemit.com should be "to get on the trending page. That is like writing and crafting blog posts for being on the top of google search results and not because they content something you really wanted to say but instead for maximizing monetization. And that's the reason "Clickbait" came to existence. Maybe soon we will have something like "TrendBait" which could be similar bad/annoying. Well that's just my opinion.

PS:
I don't think that it should be mandatory to first start a in depth search for a support email that might be hidden away in some post somewhere (especially if there are two but one is not valid anymore). Steemit.com wants to become a mainstream thing, right? And attracting Millions or 100s of Million users, then pointing out missing things that mainstream website have (like a simple support-link in the footer of the frontpage) should have reactions like "OH Damn how could we forget that?!" And not "Spent first a few hours reading every post with the "steemit" tag till you find the "one time mentioned" support-email, before you post something negative" ..

And what has "Know how Steemit works and it's purpose long term" to do with a "support-email" or "support-link"? That' is also a rhetorical question, how Steemit works or it's purpose long term has no relations whatsoever with the content of my OP or my replies to the comments. (Except certain things that will be expected of Steemit if it wants to attract the average internet user and become a mainstream thing, which I addressed correctly).

Btw: I'm still not ranting, whining or complaining. I made a valid, reasonable post about something and reply with appropriate responses to the comments to this post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57475.27
ETH 2375.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34