The Great Steemit Debate and the good community response to my heavy criticism

in #steemit8 years ago

Hello Steemers!

I am glad to write this optimistic post, because was something I really needed recently.

The Steemit Debate was something which interested me a lot.


here's the Debate video for those who missed it

So I wrote a quite polemic post recently (https://steemit.com/steemit/@andrew0/the-great-steemit-debate-why-tone-persuaded-me-much-more-than-blakemiles84) for different reasons:

  • being not fully persuaded by Blake replies
  • being frustrated to see posts rewards often not proportional to their effective quality
  • wanting to see what would have been the community reaction to my post

So what I discoveded is that, despite my criticism, the community gave me quite friendly feedback and even upvoted me!

Even some whales and dolphins were answering me and trying to understand my doubts and frustration.

Even if Tone Vays talk on the Debate was somehow demolishing my enthusiasm about Steemit, I was able to recover from that and to see some friendly, constructive feedback from the community.

Afterwards, I was talking with Tone on Youtube (comments under the Debate video) and got some feedback from him even on Twitter, while Blake answered me directly on my post, so my intention is to create a new post where I will try to analyze the Debate video step by step, to have some clarifications about specific issues which were not clearly explained in the video.

The Debate video was well done and professionally held by Thomas @ World Crypto Network.

But I think the 5 minutes speeches were too short to allow the speakers to really explain themselves

I notice that many arguments were not well explained, often time was over and no chance to fully reply!

So after my post, the result was that:

  • Blake was really friendly and genuinely wanted to understand why I was not persuaded by his speech
  • Tone wrote me on Youtube and said he is available to live reply to any doubt or further question

So please give me some suggestions about what issues would you like to submit to the speakers and to the entire Steemit community!

Sort:  

I think the debate was ultimately a good thing. It is a perplexing argument and I can understand how there are going to be people on both sides of the fence.

As i wrote, many aspects were not discussed enough and I am preparing a post to analyze them.
I think they had not enough time to confront well their positions.
While on this post here I was trying to gather some feedback from the community before preparing the future post, but maybe will pass unnoticed :)

I wrote another post about the Debate and think you may be interested in it, hope to have your feedback on it ;) https://steemit.com/steemit/@andrew0/the-great-steemit-debate-what-was-left-unanswered-and-still-needs-to-be-clarified

Will 1 Steem Power always gives the same vesting share or does this ratio change over time?

All the system is still quite obscure to me so I have to admit my ignorance.
I suppose that 1 Steem Power may change its value over time, depending on many factors (as usually happens to all the crypto currencies) but I should check the White Paper again.

Anyway thanks for your question, in my following post I will write also about the Steem Power ratio!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56740.37
ETH 3000.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19