Steemit on Yahoo! Finance!!!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Below are some highlight-worthy quotes from the article, but I just want to say that I think this is a great sign. I couldn't care less about Yahoo Finance, or anything from Yahoo. To me this just means that we're breaking into the mainstream. Things are moving in the right direction. They're gaining Steem :)

Quotes from the article:

"Scott, a former analyst at food-industry private equity firm Gellert Group, and Dan Larimer, founder of BitShares, launched the network and the currency in April. Since that time, its market cap has ballooned from $2,000 to $300 million. The platform is very young, and has its problems, but it shows impressive potential."

"...more steem is created from more activity on Steemit, and the $300 million market cap of steem is enough to rank it No. 3 among all cryptocurrencies, according to CoinMarketCap, behind only bitcoin and ether, the currency of the Ethereum network."

“It’s internet points, like you have on Reddit, but now those points have real market value,” says Scott. “People are earning money for doing the things they were doing for free before. People spend all this time creating free content for social media companies, and now they can be rewarded.

"That sounds pretty good. And indeed, multiple Steemit users say they have cashed out more than $10,000 from posting on Steemit... Steemit says it has seen more than 700 new signups every day for the past week."

"Heidi Chakos [@heiditravels], a travel blogger, says she paid off her credit card bill this month entirely with money she made on Steemit. ... “For others, it all might seem farfetched at first,” she says, “but in my experience, once you explain cryptocurrency to people, they get exited about it. I think Steemit is going to blow Facebook out of the water.” "

"... as a test, I posted on Steemit. It was nothing special: I wrote that I’m a Yahoo Finance writer and I was exploring Steemit to write a news story about it. My post quickly amassed 61 votes, which translates to $75.04 in steem power. The system cashed that out to me in half steem power, half steem, so I have 37.5 steem dollars in my wallet, which translates to $120. Not bad."

To view the article, go here: https://finance.yahoo.com/news/steem-steemit-bitcoin-reddit-cryptocurrency-000000501.html

New video: Mistakes I've Made on Steemit, and How I Plan to Fix Them

This article was referred to me by the (now) brand new user @charhawk!

Sort:  

Awesome! Always great to see Steemit on mainstream media platforms. A very positive article too. It's getting the word out, bit by bit.

This is slowly kicking into gear guys!

Love your blog @andrarchy really learning with your posts.

Thank you,

Things are heating up. Nice to see!

The more exposure, the better.

Thanks for sharing!

I just arrived here from this Yahoo article. Looking forward to learning more about this platform and how it works.

Welcome! If you want to learn about the differences between Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power you can check out my video here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@andrarchy/steemit-vlog-4-steemit-101-steem-steem-dollars-and-steem-power. Also my video where I explain how Steemit is really more of an economic system than a social network might help: https://steemit.com/steemit/@andrarchy/steemit-s-real-diabolical-plan-for-world-domination

The start of many media coverages! I'm sure will commonly see more and more media coverage on Steemit, what has done to some users and what is going to become.

Thanks for the link. I'm just not sure if yahoo-finance is the best expertise one can get these days. They really screwed their own finances. But great to get some attention anyway.

Omg, I don't even read it, a friend sent me the link. I'm just excited for the mainstream exposure!

This is actually where I heard about steemit, and joined immediately after reading it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68706.20
ETH 3751.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76