Steemit Vlog #3: Facebook Manipulates Its Users, Steemit Doesn't (And Can't)

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

In today's vlog I discuss a recent interview of Scott Adams, the creator of Dilbert, in which he explained how social media companies like Facebook and Google use the science of persuasion to distract and manipulate their users. In this video I explain how Steemit solves this problem by eliminating the "company" altogether.

I tried to gear this video more toward a general audience (read: not Steemit-user), so if you think it might draw some traffic to the site, feel free to share it on other social media platforms.

Follow me on Instagram and Twitter also @andrarchy

Why Steemit is the Tesla Motors of Social Networks

Meet a Steemian: An Interview of Me @andarchy

Sort:  

Your face and demeanor look so convinced that the viewers you are talking to are totally missing out on something amazing.. because they are :)

Great video again! Made sure to follow for when the button is working in the future.

Thats a perspective I hadn't even considered, thanks for pointing it out.

I never really realized how creepy facebook was, I think I also recently read on here that they actually have some kind of algorithim that determines how quickly you scroll through the news feed. What headline 'catches you'. This AB method of persuasion you talk about. Its just weird.

My pleasure. Yeah, I've been thinking about this a lot lately. I think a lot of people are so preoccupied with the "paid to post" element of the site that they forget it's actually more than just that.

Perhaps @dan or @ned can comment on this, but I think one of the main design principles behind Steem (as opposed to BitShares) is that there is a company behind it (Steemit Inc) which hosts steemit.com, maintains the blockchain, and basically has full creative control over the platform. This is as opposed to BitShares, which lacked such a well-defined control structure (or even worse, Bitcoin, which can't even agree whether to tweak a magic number to facilitate scaling).

From what I understand Steemit is opensource and crowdsourced meaning it is built for and by elected users. I'm sure they do have some legal entity involved, but it's nothing like the type of corporations I'm talking about. It's role is definitively small and intentionally constrained by design of the framework. But be sure to let me know if I'm mistaken. It might have been more technically correct to say that there's no corporation LIKE the corporations behind facebook and google, but I think it is still largely true that there is no "company" (as we typically think of it) behind the network. For example, it is not at all the case that there is some shady corporation scheming behind the scenes to figure out how to make money off of us. There are only steemit users and people interested in Steem who are trying to increase the value of Steem. Open and transparent operations are critical and they are present here.

Good work, thx for sharing.
Regards!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64814.42
ETH 3450.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52