You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Simple Redesign on Downvote for More Positivity

in #steemit7 years ago

I really don't think these downvotes are as troublesome as you might think.

If the platform gets popular I think we can expect an increase in the amount of abuse. If it devalues someones post just because some hypothetical dark whale and following cronies start flag a persons account to the ground, then I dont see people hanging around to get their hard made posts and oncome devalued. Not where money is involved.

manually restoring payouts to posts that have been abused.

I do like this and while the community is small it could be feasible, but I dont know how well even that would work. I dont see a case by case basis working if steemit blows up. How many people are even on steemit? Im not sure how large this platform has gotten.

This is all hypothetical ofc, steemit might remain a smallish community relative to the youtubes and reddits out there. I just think if reddit earned money by upvotes on posts, we woulndt even have a reddit in its current form.

Sort:  

When the platform gets more popular there is going to need to be more stakeholder involvement in maintaining an appropriate content payout profile. Period. This is what will make or break steem.

When steem gets bigger the manual adjustment is really going to be supplemented by many more bots voting. Curation bots will become smarter and stakeholders can use them to address problems like flag abuse directly. Manual review is going to be a part for a long time IMO.

Curation bots? I never considered that. How would they function? Search out patterns of abuse and allow decisions to be made without human intervention?

I have faith in the community but I worry what will happen when organizations get involved. I guess you are correct that right now its not a worry.

Curation bots are around now doing just that. They will only improve in scope and efficiency.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63713.30
ETH 3389.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62