You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beyond the Ethics of Bot Voting | Steemit Beginner's Series

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

@geekorner, I appreciate all of your well-thought-out points. To clarify my ambiguous language, "Ethical concerns are a personal matter," meaning you as an individual have your self-defined ethical concerns and it is not my place as a journalist to lean toward any ethical ideology in my presentation of the facts I've gathered in an effort to sway your personal convictions​. That, in itself, would be unethical.

As for your paraphrased definition of morality and concerns regarding moral issues,

morality
principles concerning the distinction between right and wrong or good and bad behavior.

Right and wrong are inherently subjective judgments.

Thank you for taking the time to read my research points and recorded numbers found in my beginner's knowledge quest. I look forward to writing more on this subject and would be grateful to connect with you on Discord for a further chat regarding your knowledge of the upper-level financial workings with Steemit.

Sort:  

Right and wrong are inherently subjective judgments.

Yes, but one of the hallmarks of moral judgments is that you can't just shrug at people doing what you find to be "wrong." Unlike other subjective personal evaluations.

I agree with you here. I've had a similar-perspective argument with one increasingly belligerent debater who asked me "WHAT WOULD YOU DO IF SOMEONE WERE PUTTING CIGARETTES OUT ON YOUR DOG!?!?!?!" I realized then that my response to moral disagreements may be different than others' approach.

While I'm not the type of police someone's actions that I believe are wrong based on my personal moral convictions, I'm more apt to investigate to fully understand that person's perspective, to see their why, and once I feel I have a sound grasp of their experience, I then make a decision as to how I will move forward to right the wrong in a constructive manner.

I strive to not let opinion, judgment, morality, and emotions determine my response to conflict. Probably why I became a journalist. 🤓

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58131.27
ETH 2360.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38