Swimming in Steem. Stop Talking About Steem

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

The world of online commentary is an ocean. I have always firmly stood on Terra firma, marveling at its vastness, unpredictability, dangers, rewards, influence, dwellers and salinity, no wait, that got away from me there.


I am dipping my toe into the deep unknown; why the change of heart?


Well I'll let a better wordsmith than I to anologise my analogy to explain.


There's nothing wrong with enjoying looking at the surface of the ocean itself, except that when you finally see what goes on underwater, you realize that you've been missing the whole point of the ocean. Staying on the surface all the time is like going to the circus and staring at the outside of the tent. (Dave Barry)


Steemit was the siren that lured me. What a fantastical idea!


To unravel my analogy squared there, its time to put on my budgie smugglers and join the circus. 


Now that I have decided to take the plunge, what should a first post be about? A cursory browse of Steem distribution is a good indicator of where effort should be focused to find the chum and the suggested topics makes an interesting read; Introductions, Steemit, Cryptocurrency are all popular subject matter, suggesting a little bit of self-service? Although anything new I suppose requires a degree of who am I? Why am I? And I realize that's exactly what my piece is about.


I think there's enough lofty articles already on Steem, it's economics, functions and quirky nuances, by greater authorities for me to contribute anything meaningful or relevant. We all know what it is now surely.


But A secondary glance of topic payouts is exactly the reason I feel Steemit is attracting all our attention; art, food, philosophy, travel, anarchy, weed, and my favorite, Life.


Once we have come to grips with our meaning to exist, these are the sort of topics that we are all here for, an exchange of opinion where we ourselves are the tide, rewarding as we see fit. Power to the masses, or Steem as it were.


These are the threads I want to read and write about...After this obligatory introductory, hypocritical piece is done with of course.


To clarify, my first post was about what my first post should be, I got nowhere and will serve as no help to others looking how to craft their first.


So time to towel off and see if maybe my next one can be a little more contributory and a lot less nautical.


Sort:  

Congratulations @ambig-in-antiq! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @ambig-in-antiq! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65771.81
ETH 3174.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61