How to Insert Animated GIFs into Your Posts

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

It took me a while to figure out how to get an animated GIF in my posts. They kept pulling in as images instead of being animated, and I could not understand why.

And, I was like…

Well, for one thing, I was trying to upload them just like we do with images. That doesn’t work with the animation. This is because an animated GIF is a little movie. This means that they will auto-embed into GitHub.


BUT, there’s a key to this: You have to know the URL of the animated GIF or still image.


To get a URL or image address for an animated GIF or still image, you simply RIGHT CLICK on it and COPY it. Then you just paste it in the GitHub area.

Notes:

  1. If you are clipping a GIF from Giphy.com, for example, be sure that you open it first, or else you will not get a working image address.

  2. With an image, you need to generate a URL (image address). To do this, pull the image up to your Facebook profile or any other online site that allows pictures. Then, you can proceed to RIGHT CLICK on the image and COPY the image address. Just like in the screenshot below. Note: Images will not auto-embed, you must upload them with by clicking the "selecting them" link below the box when writing up your post.

sports1.jpg


There, I hope this was helpful to someone, as all the tips one can get will be good for making your posts the best that they can be. Thank you for stopping by and have a great day!

Images: Giphy.com



Sort:  

That's some nice help @amarie. I am sure it will be helpful to newbies. 👍 Keep it coming.

Thanks a lot!

Helped this newb, so..

LOL! Love this!

Thanks for this tip!

Mine is not very funny or exciting but it turned this...

Into THIS!!

Great! Yes, the 2nd one is much better than the 1st and attracts more attention. Glad I could help!

thanks. i am trying to learn and was like, huh?, when i tried to insert the GIF I made.. :P i'm following u now.. cool!

Thanks, helped me out a lot with my first post!

very helpful post for newbies it such help a lot @amarie

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57979.07
ETH 3124.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36