You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New Steemit Registration Process - Using Mobile Phones

in #steemit8 years ago

It is still open to abuse. For example, people can use free virtual phone numbers. see

https://www.geckoandfly.com/4124/send-and-receive-mms-and-sms-text-messages-to-mobile-phone-online-for-free/

And of course it is easy to get hold of numerous email addresses.

Raising the karma requirements on reddit would have been a better solution, as it is pretty difficult to get a lot of karma on reddit due to the downvote brigades there.

Sort:  

well that would have eliminated me as a user as I don't use Reddit. I also don't have a mobile phone so that could get interesting too.

While that's true I'd've never been able to join as I'd never used Reddit before an certainly wouldn't have bothered to spend the time get really good at that site just to join this one. Part of @steemtruth's point is growing beyond the need to be dependent on other sites (ie, competitors at this point). Thanks for the link tho, I'll save it for when I'm ready to open another account ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60865.64
ETH 2393.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64