You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Help Conserve Bandwidth Usage!

in #steemit7 years ago

I had this big problem as well. Couldn't do anything until a friend delegated me about 40SP. The thing is, new users means growth for Steemit, so if we do not help them and make it easy for them to use the platform they won't stay and Steemit will just stagnate or even worse.

It's ok to conserve our bandwidth but that's not gonna cut it. We need a long-term solution. Currently, if I am not wrong Steemit has about 50,000 active daily users. I don't want to think about the bandwidth problem if we are going to hit 200,000, 1M daily active users and even more...

Thanks for bringing awareness to this problem @geekpowered

Sort:  

You are exactly right.

And what you said someone did for you is another short-term solution for individual users. I hope that more delegate to good new users to help with the bandwidth issues and give them a chance.

I'm told they can eventually increase the block size, but that too sounds like it's just pushing it down the road. I don't think the system as it is works exactly right. It should be effecting large users as well.

I am relatively new to Steemit so I don't have the technical knowledge and understanding to propose a solution. The bad thing though is the people who could take action don't seem to notice the newcomers' struggle

PS: I am glad that this post got great upvotes and people will probably start to see it :)

They could take a tiered approach which diminishes bandwidth increase at a specific ratio, that is, the more people "pay to win" the less benefit they get for it. It might reduce investment incentive BUT, it wouldn't reduce the power and stake, which is more important than bandwidth.

I personally prefer gradual increases over tiered systems.

I think the entire system is at risk if new users can't actually use the system, including investment. Why invest in a platform that can't grow? So, even if something decreases investment, it should still be considered, if it addresses an issue as large as this one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49