Steemit isn't Facebook, Stop comparing it

in #steemit7 years ago

dumbville-facebook.jpg

Steemit isn't and never will be Facebook

People are always comparing Steemit to Facebook but it's really not even close.

I think this is a bit of a noob mistake, one even I have made. Facebook is social media at its purest, the ability to chat with friends, connect with new people, it's basically another means to communicate with friends and family. Contact basically anyone as you would with a telephone before anything like this was even invented.

Steemit on the other hand is a blogging site. A place for people to come and post article for others to read and enjoy. It by no means is a place to communicate with friends and family, not in the sense that facebook is.

stupid-people-on-facebook_o_1913523.jpg

I can't remember the last time I read a real original article on facebook.
All I read and see on facebook is selfies, pictures of peoples dinner, ridiculous videos of grown adults saying the floor is lava and people airing their personal issues looking for attention.

Steemit for the most part is clever written blogs and articles about travel, cryptocurrency, photography and software development.

This is why I don't think Steemit will take over facebook, not the way it is now.

The fact of the matter is Steemit is too intelligent for the facebook masses. It would never catch on.
Ok so Steemit may be a great place for those that blog on Facebook but not the regular facebook users. If they came to Steemit and posted their regular shit it wouldn't earn anything and they would be leaving fairly quickly id say.

images (3).jpg

My girlfriend knows I'm on Steemit therefore she knows about it and how much I earn here but she hasn't created an account. She says why am I always on that stupid thing then goes off and watches the floor is lava videos and makes herself look like a hamster with a weird voice on Snapchat.

And Steemit is stupid

SERIOUSLY!

Now by no means do I think my girlfriend is stupid but I used her as an example of what the people that use Facebook are like. It's not just her I have friends high up in technology jobs working for Amazon and EMC, but they are the same.

The fact of the matter is Steemit is too intelligent for the Facebook masses and will never catch on with them.

And you know what, I'm glad, because I sure as hell don't want to be seeing fucking the floor is lava videos on Steemit!

Except the one above I put as an example of the stupidity of facebook users haha.

Goodnight!

Sort:  

Personally sir I believe everyone has they're preference and you seem to be putting US up on a high horse. the steemit community. Just because u personally believe that "actin a fool" has less value in our society and want to paint others as less intelligent or worthy doesn't really pan out.(like how many doctor videos are out there with people doing the same lava crap its harmless fun cuz life sux sometimes and is boring) No one needs you to speak for everyone on steemit about the intelligence of people on facebook especially when most people we know are on facebook, ourselves included.

And while there are way more articles to read on steemit who actually reads ALL these top dollar posts? MOST people just upvote as early as possible on the popular whales cuz lets be honest this is all about the money not about everyones regurgitated articles most of us have already read or seen elsewhere.
Just cuz we use steem for a little extra money and some of us don't post ridiculously FUNNY pointless content due to boredom doesn't mean we are better.
Alex sorry if my post was a little agressive towards your viewpoint. I just felt strongly that we shouldn't help make this into and us vs them or platform vs platform like some are trying to do. That is even more pointless than the lava videos cuz atleast those can put smiles one someones face. again sorry, I'm a follower and i'll continue to up vote your stuff when i can.

I take zero offence I love proper feedback like this.
You are right in a way yes being stupid can make life a bit better granted by all means we all love a good laugh but those videos just annoy me haha

Here is the thing steemit is not facebook. But steem block chain can be used to create one. If not steem community somebody else will

She says why am I always on that stupid thing then goes off and watches the floor is lava videos and makes herself look like a hamster with a weird voice on Snapchat.

Been there done that. Lol.

Steemit is not facebook, the same way it isn't instagram or twitter or snapchat. Collectively, they are social media sites though where people spend their precious time to find enjoyment, entertainment, or even as a source of knowledge now.

Just like a person packing his/her bags and moving to a different neighborhood, new users may observe first the ways of this new society, regardless if looking into moving permanently or finding a temporary 'work' home perhaps. It will NOT be to ones' advantage to have an expectation that the two communities will be exactly the same. Some level of adaptability is needed.

Steemit is not facebook, and will never be facebook. It has an identity of its own. Unique.

But it will be as big as facebook in terms of popularity and its financial worth. With the exceptional user experience we are getting, it will even surpass it, just a matter of time.

I found this read very funny, thanks for the laugh.

That was half the reason for the post 😀

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jun 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $25.62 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 18 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Like it or not, FB's user friendliness hasn't transferred to steemit. It took me weeks to get my wife to come here with me and now she's about ready to quit and she is the one in our household who is usually good at social media. My wife is in marketing and uses social media often but .....after days of trying we still can't even upload a profile picture here, and yes, we have tried all the third party sights suggested, turned off ad blockers etc. I mean creating coins is difficult stuff, why are basic things on steemit so hard to do compared to FB. Like it or not, it is the standard.

No and this is also my point about it not being a facebook rival, it's completely different, people coming over thinking it's a facebook rival will end up going back to facebook

Understandable, however, for new users, who are excited about steemit, when you finally convince your friends and family to try it, this is what you're up against. In some cases, when trying to make the case for them investing or getting into crypto's, saying "hey, try using steemit and learn more about crypto's"comes back to bite you in the ass. I like steemit but I'm also getting very frustrated by it's incredibly steep learning curve. Most people want to use social media to relax. This sight is not relaxing.

No this site is work, time and effort. You don't get payed for doing nothing

Lol. You make some good points. I too have come to realise they serve different purposes. You are right to point out the creativity aspects of being on here, but going the other way, there is stuff I would put on FB about myself - cos I know everyone on there that I am friends with. But I would not post that stuff on here, which is basically to a bunch of strangers off the internet.

I have up on facebook but when I was on it I only ever used a private group that was just me and my friends

shis are everywhere here on Steemit, too.
And shits do earn money, if your account is powerful. LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 55030.03
ETH 2337.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32