Flagging a post on SteemitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

995e0e32e7.jpg

Should we be able to flag a post?

Well first thing for anyone that doesn't know how to flag a post or where to find the flag ill show you.

On this picture it's on the top right corner, the little flag.
Screenshot_20170605-230249-01.jpeg

When you flag a post for whatever reason you may have it reduces the value of the post.
It was introduced to function as an action to reduce a posts value if you didn't think it deserved what it is making.

Screenshot_20170605-225707-01.jpeg

Now if I or any other minnow flagged a post it would hardly effect the payout, if on the other hand a whale flagged a post it would seriously impact the payout.

I myself have never flagged a post, to be honest it's because I think the majority of people on here see the flag as aggressive. A personal attack.

This isn't the intention of a flag but a common human trait is to act defensive if someone attacks you. So by flagging someone's post it can create a flag war and this is not something I have any interest in on here.

The majority of posts I've seen that have been flagged usually are spam.

But why does it have to be seen as aggressive, the intention of a flag was to even out rewards a bit.

They do help in stopping spammers from spamming but have you ever really seem a spam post earn anything more then a few cents?
I ignore spam posts completely and if it persists I mute the person so I no longer see anything posted by that person.

So for that fact that in a way flags have failed in what that were ment to be used for. Should we still have the option?

Personally I would prefer a few appointed steemians that alone have to power to flag where as if you come across abusive or just down right rubbish posts you could tag one of the appointed members in the comments of the post and they assess and flag the post if they see appropriate.

This just just my 2 cents on the matter.

Sort:  

I saw some whales who flagged for no reason. I guess they like abuse of power, they are in power tripping. I would never be on the same page with them even if I have thousands of vote power.

You have to remember the majority of whales have been here since the beginning and probably have a much better understanding of steemit then any of us, though some whale flags may seem bad I would never accuse before I know the reason behind it

do you lose steem power when you get flagged?

Up-voted and flagged!
Hope this helps.
-sarc off-
Thanks for sharing @alexrickard86

@demandpeace

I'll give it a read these now. There are both positives and negatives for flagging

Congratulations @alexrickard86! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

I never knew the essence of flagging til today

I just got into one of those flag wars after i voted a low quality dashcam video down, the person came to my channel and voted everything down. Since that person is longer on steemit also his videos are really low quality, it lead to unvisibility of my videos. So i deleteted some again to upload again later. Hopefully this person forgets but..... what about this problem?? i voted down for a good reason (low quality videos), but voting everything down in response is very childdish but also very annoying actually

Why would you flag someone for a low-quality video?

sir pzz help me some one down vote me and my all money is removed sir pz pz guide how i get it back

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59322.53
ETH 2584.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45