You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Help Us Launch The First Steemit Marketing Initiative That Pays You To Refer

in #steemit8 years ago

Steemit needs an onboarding/education program and also a marketing program. But I feel the way you've gone about this is a bad fit for Steemit.

First $27,000 is a lot of money. You could have asked people here to help for next to nothing (or for a share of the profits). Nor have you asked for any input. You've dumped all your resources into one big shot. Now you have that pressure of recouping that investment. And you haven't really got the community's buy-in.

Secondly, I don't want people here who are looking to get rich quick. The members that are hooked in by this funnel will just have their eyes full of dollar signs. They're not focussed on contributing anything of value (artistic, newsworthy, story-wise). Therefore the quality of content will decrease. Also the members will write crappy stuff , only make a few cents, and will get disappointed - leaving a bad taste in their mouth because you've oversold them on what Steemit can do.

Thirdly, this looks and feels like a spammy scammy affiliate marketing project. Sorry. That's just how I feel about it. This feels like it's in same league with penis-extension pills and anti-balding creams and diet pills that don't work. I don't know about anyone else, but that stock photo makes me cringe - it looks like you're selling something dodgy... even if the product is good.

Fourthly, other comments here have remarked that an alleged scammer Mark Lyford is involved. I don't know the specifics of the situation, but it makes me wary of getting involved in a project like this.

I'm sorry to lay into this project when I know you and your team have worked hard on it. But I feel the old-world of internet marketing tactics and strategies are grotty and will give Steem a bad name to be associated with them.

If you wanted to ask for help - or look for other people's input on the content, materials, ideas - then I'm sure we'd be lining up to help. But in the meantime I get very bad vibes about this project and hope it doesn't succeed in it's current form.

Sort:  

Actually, I am asking for input in this post. I am also asking for continued input. Read the post.

I also approached several people over the last few weeks - as you are telling me to do. Several worked with us, some were very rude and did not. Some didn't answer.

So we tried that. Not sure why you jump to that conclusion.

Sorry, I do not see all these penis pill ads you are seeing, so I am not sure what you are talking about.

I have more resources, you have no idea what on earth you are talking about, why do you say such things?

You have seen none of the material in question, but you assume it is aimed at low quality posts?

In closing, thanks for the feedback, but it was rather backhanded. Wouldn't you rather contribute by offering something to add to the project rather than presuming a lot of things?

It sure would go smoother and you could have a hand in what the product turns out to be.

Either way, it is happening tomorrow, and you are going to see a lot more people come in. I find it sad that you assume they won't contribute anything of value. I guess you already made up your mind about them

** Nevermind the fact we are offering continued training, TO HELP WITH QUALITY CONTENT. **

You are essentially telling me to do what I have done here, ask for more contributions and for people to add more value to it.

Instead of "hoping it doesn't succeed" in it's current form, why don't you help contribute to the final product you would like to see succeed?

Why do you assume all of these things to be negative and downvote it before you even ask a question or ask if we did any of this @alexc ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64091.48
ETH 3514.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52