You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How do you build your followers on Steemit?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

these are useful tips, I just wanna add some thoughts about the following situation:

Great article. I've upvoted and followed you. Please, follow me back.

So the person who wrote this thinks that you should follow her back just because this person followed you. But the purpose of "Follow" functionality as far as I understand is to filter the Steemit information we are interested in. And the reason given by such a person makes no sense. So I didn't follow this person and I noticed that after a while this person has unfollowed me which means she wasn't really interested in my content. I mean that I guess we should also care about how strong (fair, sincere) the community behind us is, so that we could trust it.

Sort:  

I definitely do not agree to that "I followed you, follow me back" thing. That is because following anyone is our choice and not because they followed us. You are correct about the functionality of Follow filter. That is why I said that you should follow those...

who write high quality articles that interests you and follow them.

and

Following will also filter your interests to be automatically on your feed instead of you searching through tags.

When I posted my self-introduction, I tried to be nice by following back. As I went along and saw how these people were doing such spam script of "followed you, follow me back", I unfollowed them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44