SteemPoor But Loving It!

in #steemit8 years ago

I could also have named this post "Why I still like Steemit despite not being a SteemProdigy". In this blog entry, I'll share some reasons why I think Steemit is a good platform, despite its growth pains. I sense the morale of some Minnow troops such as myself has been flagging lately. I hope this post will help others understand why I still like Steemit even though I'm not anywhere near being a sensation. 

1. Is Steemit really about the money, or is it about publishing ideas to leave a legacy to other generations? 

I love reading and writing on agriculture and food. I may not make a lot of money off of it, but what if my ideas do help, in some very small way, to improve the quantity and the safety of our food supply? Or what if they help fellow Steemians make more informed choices, and it saves them a few bucks at checkout? It might be wishful thinking to hope that I'll ever gain this much influence, but I'll never know unless I do the work and put my ideas out there.    

I won't deny it's fun to get money. I think we all like getting money. But let's face it: I can't bring my money with me when I die and overnight Steemit sensations can't either. So, in the long run, writing pithy posts with worthy content will leave a much better heritage for the young 'uns than self-congratulatory pieces about how much money you've made. 

2.  Steemit promotes civilized and intelligent debate. 

I've been here for less than two weeks, but I already love the respectful tone of the comments section. Constructive criticism is handed out, and very honest questions are asked. After spending 5 years in university, I have come to loathe the smothering blanket of political correctness on North American campuses. I may not become ragingly popular on Steemit with my writing, but I can still speak my mind on here without facing a barrage of spittle. That, to me, is worth more than money. 

3.  Steemit is a great platform for sharing art work, and expressing ideas. 

It's easy to bite into the "get rich quick" veneer of Steemit, and be disappointed. But, the instant nature of the internet also allows us to forget that some of the greatest literary works were poorly received at first.    

Tolkien's "Lord of the Rings" trilogy was described in the New York Times as being "death to literature itself" and "a children's book which has somehow gotten out of hand". I was honestly discouraged after my first post only earned 1.27$. On hindsight, I wouldn't even have collected that amount, weren't it for a veteran Steemian who gave me good tips and upvoted my post. Still, ideas that aren't instant money-makers aren't necessarily bad. The world may just not be ready for them yet (see below for example). 

 4. Steemit allows you to "finance" ideas that you believe in. 

Yes, some people on Steemit seem to get a lot of money they don't deserve, and others get the short end of the stick despite careful research, thought, and writing. That's certainly the way I felt with my first post. However, that's pretty much the life story of many people. Steemit may not work like a perfect meritocracy, but I still like the idea of being able to support users who come up with fresh, original content. 

5.  I will keep on posting because markets eventually equilibrate.   

I sense frustration amongst the minnows who hold little STEEM power and feel disadvantaged. It's entirely fair to feel this way, and it's true that for the time being, we're lagging behind. Let's remember though that Steemit is a relatively new platform, and as I understand it, it's not immune to the laws of economics. We can only write so much about the same subjects, especially posting about Steemit on Steemit itself, before supply outpaces demand for these kinds of blog entries. Writing about the same topics and recycling content will very likely make the platform lose appeal, so a variety of perspectives, ideas and subject matter will be needed to keep the platform alive and vibrant. Or at least, that's what I expect.    

Portfolio diversification is generally key to experiencing long-term returns. I suspect that rewarding a broad range of posts and authors will only add to the platform's resiliency and long-term growth. So before my minnow colleagues and myself get too despondent, I think we should keep on posting and let the market take care of itself. If Steemit chooses to stagnate by curating limited and repetitive content, then at best, I'll have gained valuable writing and marketing experience. At worst, I'll have lost money-making potentional I didn't even have before Steemit entered my life. So either way, I think it's worthwhile to persevere and see where the future takes us. 

And last, but certainly not least...

6. Steemit isn't an endless procession of cat pictures.

'Nuff Said. 


Sort:  

The best part about this platform is that we actually get viewership! I've blog for a whole year and only got 1 comment...and a negative one at that.

I like your articles very much and you are a good writer. I would suggest you get on steemit.chat and start mingling to get some "allies" or maybe even start an "agriculture" channel. :-)

This is a great article! I love your point about Steemit promoting civilized and intelligent debate. It's so refreshing to see people supporting each other and providing honest feedback and questions. This is exactly what has been lost on other social media platforms where you are immediately put down by the masses for sharing something that differs from the status quo. Keep on writing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61522.17
ETH 3450.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51