Steemit is NOT Instagram!

in #steemit7 years ago

DQmVXKsXbwC7b794HFqg8cBNLe8GAMjWiN6bA7wjnqfHS3Z_1680x8400.jpg

You as a member of Steemit, no matter how big or small of a following you have, shape the community. I personally don't want to see another Instagram or another Snapchat where a bunch of attractive women post slutty photos to get attention from men, and get praised for doing so. This is really not the type of behavior you should be rewarding. I get it, we all appreciate an attractive girl, but If you upvote this type of content, you are promoting it, and that really isn't a good thing. I am mainly talking to you the guys of the steemit community, keep it in your pants seriously. Now let me be clear, this post is not about "slut shaming" or "body shaming" or one sex being better or worse than the other. This post is about maintaining a community where creation is key and not physical attractiveness. Its great to love the skin you're in, its not so great when you use it to get things.

Now ladies, when you post photos for attention on here it hurts everyone on a variety of levels. Firstly, it makes many less attractive people feel bad about themselves because they weren't born just being lucky. Secondly, I personally feel it is degrading for women because it makes women look like a bunch of dumb attention whores who can't produce content that people would actually want to read without using their bodies. Ultimately, what this does is take away and demotivate the people who produce actual content, and put a lot of time and energy into it. This hurts the community as a whole. Ladies if you want to post pictures of yourself that are suggestive, save it for Instagram.

You as a reader need to police the community and the posts and upvote quality content, otherwise we WILL end up with a paid version of Instagram where people just cash in on their good genetics. Please get this out there, and please do not allow Steemit to become this. I've been putting a lot of time into the community, and I want to make sure that this platform goes somewhere, as it is currently the only platform that really endorses free speech and free thinking.

Sort:  

Ah yes, the Steemit police. This is a community where censorship is frowned upon. If this was in the real world, I bet youd be the kind of person that would pass around a petition to forcefully get the government to give you your way by telling other people what to do. You probably vote. I can tell. What ever happened to, if you dont like it, dont look at it? You dont have to subscribe to this material, you can self censor, its a beautiful concept. No one is stepping on your toes by posting anything so dont make a comment trying to censor certain things, and then give it boosts so YOU profit from it. That my friend, is exactly what Steemit is not! Would you like to contribute to the community? Give your attention to what you love and not what you hate, the world will thank you for it! Have a great day!

I completely agree!
As a woman, I hate the fact that when I post something on Facebook, a picture of myself get's more attention that a post about something meaningful, such as a decent article, mental health issues or even my writing (being an author). It's extremely degrading!
I don't endorse that sort of behaviour and I try not to submit to it myself either.
I use Instagram for photography anyway - I think there are only one or two photos of myself up on there.
Spread the love on creativity! :)

Hi friend, very good !!!!!
You would help me with a vote in my post., Thanks !!! ;)

Instagram is a good social media outlet, but the community on steemit is way better.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by alexanderbaima from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This post has received a 13.54 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @alexanderbaima.

Personally, I'm on steemit because I worship @CandiTits95. To me, she is the community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22