Contests and Giveaways Hurting The Community?

in #steemit7 years ago

Untitled-1.jpg

I'm starting to feel like I'm trying to run away from a used car lot where 200 salesman are chasing me down. Lately it seems like all the whales are running contests and giveaways in order to stir up excitement, gain new followers and gain up-votes. I'm not too sure how I feel about this. It's great to see people get excited and enjoy these events, but at the same time these events might not be the best thing for the community. I put these events into two categories. The first category is the "luck category" where the whales running these want upvotes and resteems and then will randomly pick someone to give a prize to. I'm not very fond of this method and this gives me the used car feel. The second category is the "creation category" where someone who is able to make something exceptional is rewarded for their efforts. I think support creation, not a big fan of luck.

In my opinion the only way for this platform to be truly successful is for people to create original and valuable content, and by running giveaways and contests, namely the ones that are built on luck, we are moving away from that. As I've said in some previous posts it is important for new members to feel like they are getting somewhere, and with the vast amount of posts receiving next to no views or money we need to work towards fixing that. I've already invested many hours into this community, and I want to make sure it is as successful as possible. Resteem and upvote if you agree. What are your thoughts on the contests within the community?

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by alexanderbaima from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Congratulations @alexanderbaima! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I think you make a good point about the luck based contests. I like the other ones though. The ones that challenge people to create art, share recipes or write stories. This will just give people more reasons to create new, original content. The winners are mostly displayed in the announcement posts, so they get some extra publicity aswell. The photography contests really re-ignited my interest in that particular hobby of mine.

I might be a little biased though, because I run a contest where I ask people to write stories with words I provide. Not that I have more than two contestants most of the time. I'm no whale, so my contest's not interesting ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97