The Best Fishing Day Of My Life

in #steemit7 years ago

Today was just so crazy. I have never caught a bonito before, and it's usually my dad catching them all. But today was a little different. I brought my motified sabiki line and we went out to hermosa pier. At first, it seemed like a slow day. Then, I was jigging back my line, and I heard splashing behind me like crazy. I thought it was one of the sweimmers swimming around the pier again, but then a guy says to his little kid, "Hey look, there's fishies jumping" So, I decided to turn around and I saw bonitos jumping practically out of the water.

My instinct was to take my sabiki line and cast it out behind the school, so I casted it right behind the school, jigged my line back, and then bam! I caught a line of bonito. They fight so hard and pull line, so I had to play with the drag. Once I got the line with the fish closer to the pier, I couldn't get it up, so I called for my dad to help me pull my line up. He said it was so heavy pulling it up that he's not surprised the line didn't cut him when he pulled it up. I was scared my line would break, like last time. Last time I caught a bunch, and my line popped because it was too small, but this time i came back with better line. Then, He managed to pull it over the rail, and I had landed my first bonitos! I was so excited!

Here is the pictures from this morning! :

first bonitas.JPG


allofmyfirstbonnies.JPG


DSC01690.JPG


myfirstbonnies.JPG


myfirstbonner.JPG


my1stbonito.JPG


1stbonnies.JPG


What an awesome day it has been. I've been trying so hard to finally catch this bucket list fish, and today it happened! Awesome!!

-I have hope for my life,family, and friends thanks to steemit-1.png

Sort:  

Very nice catch! Over here in Miami we are always catching snappers and groopers. I look forward to see more of your catch in the future. This one got an up vote for sure

Cool, I watch a lot of florida fishing on youtube...Kingfish, snappers, groupers, barracudas, etc. Fun fishing over there. Fishing in the paciific is a little more challenging, but still fun. Thanks for checking out my post.

Way to go @alex-icey! That is wonderful.

Thanks!! :)

Not just for me 4 of them
Congratulations what a great day for you

Your welcome

Nice catch. Now you've got the hang of it. Happy finishing and good post! 🐓🐓

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Aug 22. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $16.65 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Aug 22 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

@alex-icey,

This gem of a post was discovered by the @OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Love the Fishing photos! I only get to fish in fresh waters, I would love to try out on the ocean sometime! Happy you got to cross it off your bucket list!

Please Reply and I will nominate your post to the @OCD Curators for possible extra votes and Steemit Exposure!

Bonito fun fact: Dried bonito flakes are a main ingredient in some Asian cooking.
Because the flakes are so light, a 1 ounce bag sells for anywhere from $5 - $12.

Learn how to flake bonito and you might be onto something there.
:)

Yea, I see those in asian stores a lot. The main brand is clled "Hondashi" It is great for a mild and not too salty soup base. In california you can get them fairly cheap depending on the size, but most of the time it is pricey. Flaking bonito requires a longer process and you need a certain machine for it, which I don't have, So i'll stick with filleting it and baking it. When I fillet it, I use everything, the part of the fillet with the bones is cut out and used for bait next time, and the carcass of the fish is dumped back into the ocean for chum, and a lot of times the crabs and lobsters eat them. So the whole fish is not wasted

Thats awesome. Sounds like you know what you're doing.

Pretty cool @alex-icey! I'm not familiar with Bonitas, but i live a long ways from any ocean. Mostly lake pond and stream/river fishing for me. Good Job and cool fish!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67584.80
ETH 3438.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70