Another Significant Life Change.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Today, I just went to my freshmen orientation for highschool, and I saw a few of my old buddies from last year, but I saw some people I didn't care to see, and things are exciting and little scary.

Here is my 8th grade graudation pic:

DSC01288.JPG

Yeah, so I will be going back to school in a few weeks. Today, I went to my orientation to get my schedule and get a feel of my highschool. What I can already tell from highschool is everyone is going through puberty and so many kids are cometing to get attention from other kids. They care so much about popularity, "getting the girls" or what ever that means. I mean come on! You're not even a fricken adult! What in the hell do you know about having a relationship between a man and women. Save it for when you're an adult.

You can tell all of these teenagers need attention so badly, so you have a bunch of kids with their hormones level over the roof that are competing for attention by doing some of the most stupid things you can imagine. Sometimes I wish I can just go to college already, I don't think college would be that bad if you study hard at this age anyway. I honestly think that kids shouldn't be separated by grade, but by intelligence. I think we have so many kids that are not on the same level in one grade that all of the kids that are ahead have to wait for the slow ones.

Highschool does seem sort of exciting, only because it is a step closer to going to college and hopefully leading a successful life. Other than that, I could care less about the people that go there. Most kids in highschool are so low class and do the dumbest things for attention, and a lot of times, it is like going to the zoo. Hopefully I can find some decent friends and still hang out with my older friends. What does suck is one of my best friends moved away to oklahoma, which really sucks because we had the most in common.

This experience is scary to me...Just saying. I guess time will tell, and i'll get used to it. Is there anything you would suggest to me when going to highschool? Feel free to share some highschool experiences in the commetns below (good or bad). I guess this is just another stage of life everyone has to go through. All I can say right now is....

UGH.

-I have hope for my life,family, and friends thanks to steemit-1.png

Sort:  

You're already on the right track if you are noticing the herd mentality "getting the girls" etc. It's very difficult to keep true to yourself but you can do it. Always keep focused on the reason you are there; your "job" is to get an education. Next focus is on a few good friends, popular or not doesn't matter. The scary part is something we all deal with so be kind to those around you remembering they are as scared as you!

I would say, be yourself but learn how to manage relationships with your peers accepting that they are what they are in that environment. It's a show that will come to an end soon. Be strong, try to have fun.

Inspiring story.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Aug 25. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.99 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Aug 25 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60943.34
ETH 3387.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57