Get the most of Steemit - First impression

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone!

I spent quite some time around the community to make my thoughts about this post. I did some research here and out of the community as well to see what people is saying and if I agree or not with that after looking for some proof. So I hope you enjoy reading this guide, even if you're very experienced, and I really expect that this make your time here even more enjoyable!


Image by onlyyouqj

  • I think this is the golden rule to have a really good time around here: DON'T use the community like a "make money scheme".
    I know that the idea of a social media that pays you for posting is VERY attractive, but I think this is not the heart of the platform. If we want to post something, let's do it because we like to share that and because we think it will be useful to others. To make posts thinking about the "payment" and don't see the return can be very frustrating. Instead, post for the fun of it. Enjoy writing every part and at the end, give yourself that feeling of task done! This will probably make the shared content with a higher quality.

  • Don't just post.
    I think the best part of Steemit is to enjoy everything we have around. Read posts about subjects that you like and interact with people that create and comment on them. I think this will open doors for the best part of the community.

  • Make friends.
    If we're taking our time to appreciate the thoughts and work of somebody, let's try to interact with this person. This way both can share information and build up knowledge. I guess that if somebody took his time to create a well worked post, he will be very happy to talk further about that topic. Having friends with similar interests here will boost our experience.


Image by asier_relampagoestudio

  • Don't treat Steemit like an investiment.
    Use all features without thinking about the money. Remember that appreciation is key for a good time here. Added to it, don't think about "wasting time" or "I should make X per time". I like to think I am here to have a good time, not to make money. If I walk away with free coffee, it's a bonus!

  • Share your passions.
    If we made some friends with similar interests, let's share our opinion, progress, works and so on. Even if you are not the best on something, if you do it with passion everyone will see the beauty of your expression. We can use our hobbies here: photography, dancing, sports, gaming, and many more. Remember that here is not like other social media where tons of people are just trying to put others in a down mood.

  • Learn.
    One of the best things here in my opinion is that we can learn from different subjects from people who loves doing that thing. I got surprised when I saw many tutorials with high quality. I mean, I expected good posts here, but they are even better than I thought. That makes me very happy because most of other social media we have tons of people just seeking for attention. So, make your time here worth even more by learning something once in a while.


Image by makyzz

  • Use the chat (steemit.chat).
    My experience with the chat was a lot of fun. Many funny people there and you can have good private talks. Make some friends there and I think you will be addicted to have fun there in no time!

  • Don't be a massive attention seeker.
    Follow people and try to be followed only because of certain purpose. I know the good feeling of lots of people appreciating our posts, and if you get that from the right people, the feeling is amazing! In other hand, I don't think that lots of comments like "cool stuff" will create such a good feeling. Make your material for the right people and look for the people that are making good material for you.

  • Make content for the right crowd.
    One of the most outstanding things in Steemit is that people here are more mature than people in other social media. So when writing your posts and comments, remember that people here actually read and critically think about it. This means that is best being original on your material than just doing things that attracts mass attention. And prepare yourself to read well thought comments.


image by katemangostar

  • Try to help as many people as you can.
    I think this is a rule for life, so here it is true as well. Try to make people feel better, try to tell them how to improve their experience here, try to make them happier than before they met you!

I am following this guidelines and I am having a great time here. I know I am just starting, but my experience here is already different from on any other social media.

I really hope you enjoyed reading my thoughts here and PLEASE let me know where I can improve.
I am expecting your comments!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58976.49
ETH 2502.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48