[Help!]: Friends Of Steemit, What Should I Do With My Blog?

in #steemit7 years ago

Yo fellow friends,

So here's the deal:

I started my writing career as a blogger, in which I learnt internet marketing.

I wrote under the niche that is personal development, or self-help.

I had been doing it for six years and I spent most of it struggling like a dog.


When I joined Steemit, I entered with a mindset of honest desperation.

I was sick of going broke all the time with my blog.

I always loved to write, but not being able to pay the bills took a toll.

I... don't mind helping people. I'd love to scream out loud that I love helping people, but that'd be a lie. I can't say that I am writing solely to help people only. Again, I don't mind helping people with my writing, but I believe due rewards to everyone should be a given.


Today, I am happy.

Steemit has taught me a lot. The months of writing daily while not receiving a huge payout paid off. Heck man, I totally left Steemit for a few months when the price was shit. Then I came back to continue to write.

If anything, I call it the necessary humbling experience all should go through.

And so here I am...


I haven't been writing on my main blog, like at all.

Why?

Cause... I am happy here! 

And I've been very disillusioned in the traditional world of blogging.

The scammy entrepreneurs, the pretentious self-helpers, the lack of appreciation, the circle jerking and the super long ass process in trying to make a sale.

I am not kidding- From writing (contrived) articles known as 'content', building a salespage, testing that salespage, building an email list, writing an email, writing my own book to sell and then finally promoting that shit to people.

I've made good money with that before, but I eventually stopped because I felt it was all so shady and fake. I just never liked the idea of writing for the sole purpose of deriving a piece of result, be it traffic, likes or money.


I've jumped ship. 

Does this make me seem disingenuous? Does it make me seem like I am only here for money?

Sure does.

I'd admit that a basic, stable income created from here is extremely important.

And I don't give a fuck what others think of me now. I've done all that outside shit before and I am tired of it. If anything, it doesn't suit my personality.

But, I am rambling here.


The thing is, my blog has an existing audience I feel should be reached out to.

  • I've an email list of nearly 10,000 subscribers (and I am paying for Aweber, the email service monthly!)
  • I've a Facebook page of over 3,000+ likes.
  • I've a Quora following of about 5,000 people.
  • I get messages daily from readers telling me how much they love my shit. 

At the top of my head, I think perhaps I can publish what articles I write here over to my main blog, email my list articles from here and consistently encourage people to sign up at Steemit.

It'd take more work on my part, but hey! Anything for y'all beautiful folks here.

I'd love to give back.

Please give whatever suggestions you can!

Thanks!

@sweetsssj @kevinwong @suriesue @acidyo @donkeypong @jwolf @rok-sivante @quinneaker @stellabelle @ace108

Sort:  

Thank you very much

Get your post resteemed over 90000+ followers and get upto $19+ value Upvote. Your post will skyrocket and give you maximum exposer.

Send 1 SBD or STEEM to steemitrobot with your post url you will get your post share over 30000+ followers and 1 upvote $1.5+ value. Plus Get

Send 3 SBD or STEEM to steemitrobot with your post url you will get your post share over 60000+ followers and 1 upvote $5+ value. Plus Get

Send 5 SBD or STEEM to steemitrobot with your post url you will get your post share over 60000+ followers and 1 upvote $9+ value. Plus Get

Send 6 SBD or STEEM to steemitrobot with your post url you will get your post share over 90000+ followers and 1 upvote $11+ value. Plus Get

Send 10 SBD or STEEM to steemitrobot with your post url you will get your post share over 90000+ followers and 1 upvote $19+ value. Plus Get

See our all pakages at: www(dot)whaleboostup(dot)ml

You have good experience about blogging

Yes do that!
Let this be your main thing and feed that through to your other online spaces.
The traditional way of the blogopshere is d.e.a.d!
Hehe
Happy you on here dude!

And seriously if someone judges you from making a living on here, well they can go stuff themselves.
Because they obviously dont understand what the whole point is of Steemit!

Carry on Steemin!!

Personally, I tried not to use so much of the shit word and beyond.
Not that don't use it totally. If you think that's you niche then by all means.
I try to have mine more general so as the following is not restricted to certain channel. I think there is no right or wrong here. It's just your strategy and you have to decide what's the best for you to go long term.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66982.11
ETH 2591.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67