Should We Be Able To Filter The New Posts We See?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

I was talking to my brother today about Steemit. There's already often 5 or 10 posts a minute, so quite a lot of good posts may be slipping through the cracks. Brand new users will have to claw their way up to get a higher reputation score and some followers. Until they do, a lot of their posts may show as if they are complete duds, earning $0.00 which isn't a good feeling. There's no way around that (at least I don't think so) because there will always be more posts than users to read them.

What about those level 35-45's who have some reputation score but don't have many followers yet? I realized that it may be nice to have a way to filter out incoming posts. What if you could elect to only see posts by users of at least a certain reputation score? Or.. only view posts which earned at least $1? I'm sure there are pros and cons to this and hopefully it wouldn't punish brand new users. Not everyone would want to filter or bother to do so, but some people would. I'm still a little nervous about upvoting a level 25 only because last year there were so many bots and people learned to not vote accounts which haven't proved themselves.

I'm sure other's have had the same or similar ideas of simple ways to filter. What do you all think? Also, what about practical filters such as language filters? I like that Steemit is a global site, but sadly I can't read Chinese so it just adds to clutter. Eventually this will be more of an issue for users who love to read Steemians' posts without having to dig too much. There will always be the monetary incentive for those willing to do the digging.

On a side note, I hope @Poloniex reenables their Steemit Wallets because I have about 3000 Steem I'd love to Power Up lol. I bought today on the dips between 60k and 68k satoshi. :)))

Sort:  

Actually, the filter I really want: sort by time posted

If I understand it correctly, curating under 30 mins means you give up most of the reward. Lately when I get the urge to curate and click on 'new', it takes a while to scroll down to 30 mins and longer.

That is a very good idea. I didn't know they had a time difference but that makes sense so people don't always rush to be first on high level bloggers posts.

Right. I'm not 100% sure that 30mins is the meaningful cutoff, that's just kind of in my mind as probably true.. but there def are time differences

Even for a complete newcomer like myself this would be helpfull. It's hard for someone like me to get some followers (I imagine) but what is even harder, for now, is finding some expert and usefull stuff between the "less usefull" posts. :-)

Ya I think something eventually gives where filtering just needs to be done.

I'd like all the filters that you mention: rating, current payout, language

While there's the argument that it hurts new accounts, I think the other way to look at it is it would be unsustainable to help new accounts by forcing clutter onto users.

The site being more user-friendly should have consequences that are naturally better overall.

Like, new accounts not getting as much exposure would mean that new users need to find other ways to get the ball rolling, such as by contributing useful comments. And this probably makes the rating system more meaningful in the sense that rising out of low ratings tends to correlate more with deserving it.

Thanks for responding! Knowing Steemit, that's already in the works. At least I hope so.

I really want these filters. What I do is bookmarks my favourite users and when I get time I open them one by one and read their posts and give upvotes, resteem what they deserve. In the vast ocean of steemit, many good users and their posts are flooded away so I have to do it. Now I have also bookmarked you after reading this post.

Oh man feeling bad for your stuck STEEM in poloniex I hope you get it back soon @albensilverberg

Even for me, a newcomer, this would be helpfull. Thanks for sharing :)

yo just wanted to say wsup !!

Great blog post n article. Upvoted & Followed! :)

very helpful mate...thanks

Yea that lens looks special. So its gives better pictures under sun shine. Upvoted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29