Predicting $10 Billion Steemit Market Cap 2018steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

Right now we stand at around $500 million market cap. With a quickly growing user base, a 20 fold increase to $10 billion in the next 12 months seems reasonable to me. This is one reason I am buying up and powering up more Steem. There's also at least one positive feedback loop I'm counting on. As the price goes up, the active users and new users go up, which in turn makes the price go up. Eventually Steemit will be talked about all over the internet which will further advance the market cap and user base. Hard Fork 20 also looks very promising https://steemit.com/steemit/@steemitblog/proposing-hardfork-0-20-0-velocity.

A community like Steemit would not exist if all of the users were just investors. I tip my hat to the excellent content creators here. There are some who have been able to quit work and do this as a full time job. Others have funded their world travels from money they earned here. This is not a bubble, it's a shift. Crypto currencies are redefining what a company is and improving on the power of the individual.

Eventually I also anticipate advertisers will create their own accounts on Steemit and fund those accounts with a decent amount of Steem Power in order to promote (either by upvotes or actual promotion) certain blogs. There are some who are against this, but I am very much for it. This will also serve to further raise the value of Steem as advertising will be a part of the demand for Steem on exchanges.

This is still early days. This is still beta. We are fortunate to be here. Steem on!

Sort:  

Valid points all around. I have not hit the powerdown button for my 11 months and counting here on steemit.

Additionally, the price action on the Steem/BTC chart is in a solid stair stepping pattern in past couple months and looks to continue.

Yes old friend lol. The chart does look good to me too. I imagine we'll be at $10 per Steem pretty soon. Hope you've been well! Looks like you've been really active on here. I actually powered down a little but then reevaluating things today I ended up powering up much more than I had powered down. If the poloniex Steem wallet would just reenable, I'd power up even more haha.

Hell ya! I had Steem some sitting in Polo for a few months as I debated what I was going to do. Now the seeing the sheer amount of adoption on Steem and knowing what's coming there's no way I am selling any Steem till we hit the billions and billions of maket cap. In fact, I want to go re-buy what I divested back in March. Been here almost since the beginning and never seen Steem look so strong! No one should be selling now unless they really don't understand what's about to happen.

Oh goodness, keep me away from Polo. Bittrex has been great for me, no problems to date.

Things are well. Thanks. Just very busy with my website, real estate book launch and keeping up with steemit especially, but I suppose busy is a good thing! :-)

Steem on man!

If this increase in users continues at this pace that's likely a conservative estimate. It could easily go much higher in years to come!

I would love to see that sort of increase. The community is growing rapidly and we could see huge change here! Overall, I think taking part here and buying when you can is a really great way to stay ahead of the curve here. Steem will be harder to purchase as the price goes up and may even be harder to earn later on as more people join.

I agree. I'm also a huge fan of how the developers handle just about everything. They listen to the community. They adapt. They essentially only get paid if the project succeeds as their net worth is directly tied to the price of Steem.

The devs have done a great job. The overall concept and success Steem is having eases my worries of devs dumping what they have. Other less reputable currencies always provide me with the fear of devs dumping as soon as the price goes up. However, it just doesn't make sense especially with what a large part social media plays in today's culture.

That sounds beyond amazing honestly.. But don't forget that there are more features coming our way and with the features come the people.
Steemit is like my digital home now. And hopefully it will stay like that for a long long time.
Cheers and hope you arw right on your predictions friend 🍻
-Goldie

Thanks. Imagine once there's a mobile app lol.

Im actually using the mobile app to steem... It's called eSteem and it actually gives votes on everything you posted as yoy can see on my comment right now:)
Just look at @good-karma and check out the app.
Cheers and best of luck
-Goldoe

Thanks! I'll look into that!

Wouldn't be the first time you were right, lol. This post kind of pumps me up.

Me too! I'll have over 20,000 Steem Power by the day's end lol

Haha nice! I noticed you powering down at some point .. I think?

#NotStalking, I checked what some people were doing after the fork lol

Glad you're still a bull!

I started to power down but stopped that and am putting more in. Quite excited.

I can see that happening! To your point @albensilverberg, the moment we see advertisers creating accounts, the Steem train will have full momentum, hopefully we all have ourselves a few thousand steem before that point!

Definitely!

A very convincing argument. Thank you for sharing your insight. I am just a newbie (a minnow 8 days old) and am learning ropes but I have already seen the power of Steemit platform for monetization and the exponential growth in number of blogs plus new users. Thank you for sharing your vision. Following you.

I am mostly into wildlife and travel photography blogs. I would be honored if you check my latest blogs when you have time. Your comments will be very valuable to enrich my experience. Thanks.

cool !! so i have to wait until 2018 mate?

lol It could happen sooner. To me that'd be a reasonable price even by old stock market thinking.

then i must buy more steem then thanks bro

Everything happens in waves and with Steemit we get to contribute to all of them from the moment we jump on board. Being here, has been one of the most positive experiences I could wish for, helping me move through unsure times. The chart does look to be producing a strong reversal and I expect this trend to continue as we nurture and grow this wonderful community. 10 bil market cap here we come!! Thanks for sharing your thoughts @albensilverberg! Cheers, Mark

steem on - i read the hardfork 20 link and am now following you and upvoting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50