Feature Request: Why can't we follow tags?

in #steemit7 years ago

Why can't we follow tags?

We need this feature if Steemit is to compete with Reddit

If Steemit is to be like Reddit, but free from a central authority, and where you can get paid for articles, then we need to be able to follow/like/subscribe to tags.

This would ideally put everything from that tag in your home feed, allowing you to view only the topics you're interested in. As a writer, I don't want to shoehorn myself into talking about a specific category. I'm a complex person with many interests, hobbies, and professional talents. I don't want my main success to be determined by who follows me. I want to appear on the "new" page of anybody who likes a certain tag I'm using.

This could even only apply to articles where the first tag is one you follow. I actually like that better. Reddit works because communities are created around certain tags (subreddits in their case).

Now, this would be more loose than Reddit since you can't moderate Steemit, but that's the whole point. There are no nebulous rules to follow for a certain tag. If you break rules, you get flagged and never seen again.

I apologize if this seemed too... rant-y
I've been Alavan, thanks for reading.

PS: We also need auto-complete for tags when posting.

Sort:  

I agree! I have thought a lot about this lately. It would make the experience of Steemit a lot better. Something really cool would be that when you create your account you can choose 10 topics that you follow. This would also make people stay more active, I think.

That is a good idea. I don't like seeing an empty feed when I go to my home page.

You just have to follow some more people then ;) You can start with me if you are into health, sports, and hearing about my own experience with weird things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59220.04
ETH 2316.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51