You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Users: Stop Giving Away Your Content - People Are Stealing From You!

in #steemit7 years ago

On the one hand, you acknowledge that you wouldn't further investigate something that's own representative made to sound like a scam, but on the other hand chastise me for not doing so. Why would I assume a person representing this initiative was wrong and I should check it out more before writing my post? I honestly shouldn't. Beyond that, from what you have explained, it seems a handful of curators get compensation and participants get exposure. I genuinely do not think that is worthwhile, and I am entitled to my opinion. I am relatively new here as well and you're making it seem like I should just know to 1. not believe your own representative 2. should know how to track the things you've mentioned - AGAIN: I didn't make "accusations", I gave my opinion on this initiative based on what one of your own representatives indicated to me. This wasn't "one persons comments about it", this was a person who is supposed to be knowledgeable and representing your initiative accurately. I love how that person was wrong but you are wagging your finger at me. There ARE other projects I have seen that are doing what I am stating, but I do NOT feel compelled or obligated to go searching for things I dismissed as a waste over a month ago. So far, my experience with now two representatives of your page leave me feeling frustrated, for what it's worth. As someone new here, I'd rather not deal with it. How am I supposed to know who has or has not complained? I also still don't get how "big vote supporters" is supposed to mean anything to someone new. I would urge you to, as a leader of this page, write out with some clarity what you do and how it benefits the content creator, and what happens with the funds you earn. You can't be upset people don't understand when your own team misrepresents you, and then scold confused people who feel like they were dealing with someone trying to poach their content. I mean really.

Sort:  

it seems a handful of curators get compensation and participants get exposure.

No, again, this is not true and it literally takes a few minutes to check that the authors do get more than just exposure and more rewards than the curators finding their posts.

It seems like you are only reading what you want to hear.

I'm not upset about people not understanding how it works. I do however get upset about the Project that I have created and spend a lot of time on combined with many others being called a scam. Especially since it was started after another Project took photos and content of others posts without asking permission and without even supporting the original posts with rewards.

I will take you up on your advice about explaining more in depth how it works to newcomers that can't figure out if they will get rewarded before they go pointing fingers that they are getting scammed.

I would've loved to see your reaction to being featured in the shady curation projects that I mentioned earlier, though.

Instead of telling ME to "go" do something, why don't you list it out here?? FFS! If you can't explain it well, if your people can't explain it well... I have yet to see what anyone gets other than traffic to their post in front of "big" voters, and YOU sharing the funds with your curators. If I missed something, ENLIGHTEN ME but you have to stop blaming ME for writing a post about something THE WAY IT WAS PRESENTED. This isn't the New York Times, it's my Steemit page, my experience with your person. And now you. Both of which leave much to be desired.

I already explained it in my first comment. Your post would get exposure through the OCD account and extra posting rewards which it wouldn't have received had those curators not stumbled upon it and nominated it.

The curators put time in for finding these posts in the masses and get rewarded for it through the compilation posts.

The compilation posts make about 10-12$ per nomination, the original posts make about 10-30$ extra depending on already accumulated rewards and rank in the compilation post.

From what I can tell chief made it also clear a couple times that you would get exposure and posting rewards in the comments. He didn't say you might get extra rewards or that there is a chance. He knows all accepted nominations get extra posting rewards.

Yet you still don't seem to get that that is part of it.

I asked him to explain what he meant by rewards. As a noob, who you guys are "trying to help" - I didn't know what that meant. I'm still not sure I do. I've only been here since June. From what you can tell: did he answer it at all? From his response, did he explain that to me in any way? Have you? Maybe that's why I "still don't seem to get that that is part of it". Ugh.

Ugh, indeed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66373.20
ETH 3291.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69