My First Step towards Steem Evangelism: Rocking My Steem/dtube Shirt

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)


I have always thought about Steem Evangelism: getting out there to talk about steem.

It had never gone beyond just thinking about it, I have only told some of my friends about it, about five of them have joined with two are waiting for the registration confirmation. But then that was all I have ever done, I have never been able to go out there and turn myself into an ambassador for steem.

One thing I realized is that I am already an ambassadaor as much as we all are.

You can only fall on one side of the coin: the bad or the good side. I mean you can only be a good or a bad ambassador, you are a good ambassador if you deliver and discharge your duties as expected and bad if you decide to behave selfish and non-challant about your obligations: keeping the whole good news about steem to yourself.

So what are your duties/obligations as a steem ambassador, remember I said, we all are ambassadors around here, because steem is a society on its own with its own culture and rules , all of which are not particularly written but rather, created out of a non-rigid and decentralized social consensus. The only duty I think we have as an ambassador is to harbor within ourselves a sense of responsibility and ownership. If you were Ned and no one else was ready to help, what would you do? My answer to that question will be to work for the community or/and evangelise the message of the community.

Work for the Community

Steem is bigger than posting and commenting. A lot of new users don't know this, they think they are here to post only,you are here to be rewarded for your value and to help others get rewarded too. That is why we have people who work behind the scene to make sure all goes well in terms of fighting plagiarism, supporting new users in the #introduceyourself section, funding new projects and so on. All this are done selflessly for the purpose of the community. Without the community, we will all loose what we have here. You probably think I am talking about SBD, steem or Steem power.

The truth is that , God forbid, if anything happens to steem today, some people will loose their sense of purpose because steem has re-defined many people's purpose. The sanity of many will be re-positioned becuase they will have to start looking for jobs that don't exist . Imagine going from earning $200 a week doing what you love with people you cherish (without bossy control) to now having to earn less than $50 dollars (that is even if you get a job) doing what you hate (or doing what you like in a way that you hate) with a boss that makes you feel like a 21st century slave. So see yourself as a member of this "church", "sweep the floor", "clean the altar" and "dust the chairs" when the need arises.

Evangelise

If you clean the church and the altar , and nobody shows up on Sunday. Two things will happen , your efforts will be frustrated and you will feel very lonely. Imagine if all your friends were on steem , imagine how awesome it will be. Yeah, bring them and turn this place to your friendzone. Talk to your neighbors, friends and colleagues. More so, imagine being the source of someone's financial or emotional security. In case you don't know, getting rewarded doing what you love gives you a better chance at emotional security.

What should I do now?

You probably think I am trying to talk as an authority that knows a lot about steem. No, I am just talking as a regular user that has found the truth and thus, have made up his mind to do the right thing by intensifying my steem evangelism and then advising others to do the same.

What am I going to do now?

I suggest you start with what I did. Customise a shirt and rock it around town. You really don't know how many people will see you on that and decide to search about it. That was what I did, I customized a shirt , placed dtube behind it and steem in front of it and went about rocking it. That is my first step as regards steem evangelism,my dream is that the next time I am going to be posting about this , it will be me standing in front of some people and preaching about steem.

The beautiful thing about steem is that it is easy to preach. I only have to show them who I was before steem and who I became after steem. If you don't have a positive result of that then you are doing something wrong, speak to someone about it.

Attached above with links below is a video of myself rocking the steem shirt, I think the quality of the Shirt isn't good enough, hope to get a better customizer next time.

On a lighter note, I just wanna say that "If you are a black man and have not watched "Black Panther", you are missing the experience of a life time". I hope to write a post about that soon.

Please, UPVOTE, RESTEEM AND COMMENT.

Feel free to join us on @reachout discord server


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

You can only fall on one side of the coin: the bad or the good side. I mean you can only be a good or a bad ambassador, you are a good ambassador if you deliver and discharge your duties as expected and bad if you decide to behave selfish and non-challant about your obligations: keeping the whole good news about steem to yourself.

. Customise a shirt and rock it around town. You really don't know how many people will see you on that and decide to search about it. That was what I did, I customized a shirt , placed dtube behind it and steem in front of it and went about rocking it.

Wow

I think I'm going to try that too.

Great job on and off steemit

Steem on

You will make a solid Steem Ambassador @akintunde.

And I really do think the Reachout discord is a good concept. Thanks for you assistance some days ago. I am beginning to understand how things work there.

I am happy you get it now. Thanks for the comment.

Steemit is too good to be kept quiet about, sometimes i get so excited i shout steeeemit!!! I just cant keep mute about this, steemit to the world mhn

Same here bro. Saw your SBD. thanks for the appreciation.

You are very right @mistakili
Its just too good not to talk about it

Thanks for this @akintunde
Together we grow steemit by all possible means.
Have a fun day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67971.67
ETH 2643.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67