How to make more than 1 steemit account

in #steemit7 years ago

This is the story of how I had to make a new steemit account to ever use steemit for the first time ever.

Yes, what I just said it's true. I have two steemit accounts, this is the second one and I still can't access the original one (Because there is really no way to access an account once you loose the hashkey). When I first learned about steemit and decided to make an account on it, I went through a 4 hours of waiting time to get my account approved and when that happened I messed up with the passkey.

So what happened ?

As you may have noticed that when you get approved on steemit and go the link where you are given a passkey (a hash password), you are asked to note it down somewhere. You type the generated password and you have your account made. Well I realised only after it was too late that you are given a new passkey everytime you refresh the passkey verification page.

What actually happended - I took screenshot of the passkey and to act all more smart I tried to CTRL-C & CTRL-V the key where we are supposed to re-enter it (I'm a foolish lazy being who didn't want to type the hash). If you continue with the pasted key in the 're-enter' section and click on continue, instead of your account getting created, the page gets refreshed.

What did I do next ?

I tried using my other mail addresses and numbers to signup for steemit two more times. I waited for about a week and none of my further account requests got approved. I had to do something else so I figured out maybe steemit guys are smart and they really don't want more than one account per user and must have stopped approving any more account requests from my location (using my public IP address) and device's information that they received with the account request.

Making of second account !

It's simple, I asked a friend of mine to make an account on steemit and pass me the username and passkey once they get approved and it's all done. I told her how refreshing the page makes it regenerate the passkey and all the reasons why I needed her help to get a steemit account. I told her specifically to first write down the passkey on a page and re-enter it and to make sure that she does this without any interruption, I guess I was being too cautious but GOD that's what it took me to get started on steemit.
If you don't want to ask a friend for help you may aswell do this own your own by just using another device, mail, number and most importantly location (technically a different network) for the same. I could also do that but as I mentioned earlier I'm a lazy ass.

Why did I write this blog ?

I was talking to someone on steem chat today and he wanted to make a new account and I happened to know 'how to' for the same as I went through all the patience and struggle to get one. So I thought this could prove helpful to others aswell.

Steemit-big.png

Sort:  

Why have more than 1?

Hi @warrenvee,
I lost hash key of my first account that got approved and another guy who was low on reputation wanted to start all over. If you would give this post some reading you would understand why others might also find this information useful.

Do you think I should edit the post with more on 'why'?

That sounds like a struggle, glad you found out how to get back on here lol.. I basically just copied mine into a google document.

Super your tutorial. I will follow your blog because you have good ideas and you are interesting. Bravo

Hi @izbing,
Thankyou so much. Much appreciated.

I totally understand why you wanted to make a new account. However I read that in theory it's not permitted to have one more account unless you pay for the second one.

Could you please drop here a link to that theory you're talking about? Because I am on the verge of creating another account for my blogging business. TY

While I find this article insightful, one thing that you didn't take into consideration is, how does steemit handle such a scenario wherein you managed to create secondary account from another device but then afterwards you are signing in again-and-again on the same device/location/IP you were using when you first signed up?

I would like to hear your thoughts on this. TY

thanks man, but one question pls, hope someone won't get Acc. Ban if he sign up more than once from same IP.?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53929.89
ETH 2263.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35