Another Milestone Reached: 50 SP!

in #steemit6 years ago

Last week I wrote a post celebrating 50 reputation, and now, I've reached 50 SP!

fireworks-574739_640.jpg

Image source: Pixabay

It took me around 6 months to earn 15 SP to call my own and stop depending on the Steemit initial 15 SP delegation. Then I traded most of my saved-up earnings into STEEM and powered up, which got me to around 28 SP. After that, it was back to grinding the post rewards. Some more time passed. September ended, and in the middle of the hardfork chaos, I managed to reach 40 SP.

I hadn't thought I'd reach 50 SP just yet, but October started, and I decided to join the Pay It Forward Curation Contest by @PIFC, where we must write a post to showcase two interesting steemians who have a reputation of 55 or lower. Since the post was all about supporting other users from the community, I decided to also enter it into the @minnowsupport weekly resteem contest. Much to my surprise and joy, my entry finished as one of the 8 chosen posts of the week, and won 10 STEEM! It may not be much to some, but to me, 10 STEEM is really huge!

With the introduction of Resource Credits (RC) after the hardfork, having more SP became even more important because our SP amount is tied to how much RC we have and how many actions we can take on the platform. My RC was depleting around 2.7% every time I left a comment, and from 3% to 5% when I made or edited a post, and it takes a full hour to recharge 1%. The way how my RC depleted fast and was so slow to recharge was making me nervous, and last week I ended up not upvoting and commenting as much as I used to before the fork. So, when I got the 10 STEEM, I couldn't help but power it all up...

Thus, on October 8th, 2018, I completed 8 months on STEEM. And the following day, I reached 50 SP!

What Now?

Now the grinding to "level up" little by little continues, and I can start mulling over the idea of delegating SP to a few community projects that give returns on the SP invested. Only "start mulling over the idea" for now, as I can't actually delegate just yet, or I'll have RC issues (even with 50 SP, leaving a comment still eats more than 2% of my RC!). I'll likely need more than 50 SP for myself to be able to transact on the platform comfortably without needing to worry about RC, and then some to delegate. Maybe 8 more months later :P .

Sort:  

Thank you for supporting the #upvoteplankton initiative. I am providing you an upvote to motivate your commitment to the #Steemit community! As the platform continues to expand, it is imperative that we come together and support each others content. It is a long process to become a minnow here but also a journey well worth taking as the knowledge and learnings achieved are beneficial for our personal growth as well as a step forward to improving our engagement on the platform. Please continue supporting the #upvoteplankton initiative by posting content as well as curating and upvoting content of others.

Thanks for using the #upvoteplankton tag. This post was read and enjoyed by yours truly. Upvoted

I've been using it since... one week after the initiative started, I think! Glad that it's still going on!

I still remember that I loved the quote you had left in a comment back then:

If you want to go fast, go alone, but if you want to go far, go together.

It's sad to see what happened to your reputation score, though... I upvoted your comment to try to help. It's a dust vote, though. I hope you have Dustsweeper or something!

Thanks for your support @aiyumi, no worries on the rep score, it's just digits on a screen.

I am also blessed with some votes from @fulltimegeek's bot army, so it's helped to keep my posts and comments visible.

Keep up the great work :)

I was worried because they weren't visible to me. No, not only thanks to my vision problems :P , but because they aren't visible on Busy (the interface I use the most). I've just checked. They aren't visible on Steempeak, either. Oddly enough, only Steemit.com makes them visible...

I think the best solution would be if front end designers made sure posts and comments from people they follow were never hidden regardless of the upvotes or flags. I don't see why someone's choice to see content should be subject to control by others

@ned @timcliff @gtg @steemit @steemitblog @busy.org @steempeak @partiko

Any thoughts?

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by aiyumi from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations on reaching this milestone, @aiyumi! By the way, are you on WEKU too? You could, for example, earn WEKU and WKD there and then sell them to buy more STEEM for your Steem account. Just a thought…

Thank you! Happy second STEEM anniversary to you! Oh, I already said this on your post... ;) anyway!

No, I'm not on WEKU. I find it already hard enough to come up with content to post on STEEM regularly. I don't think I can keep up with one more blogging platform... it's a nice suggestion, though! Out of curiosity, how much are the WEKU currencies worth at the moment?

There’s no open market for WEKU and it’s not listed on any exchange (yet). In private deals between people the prices vary between 0.5–1 STEEM for 10 WEKU. Maybe they vary even more, but those prices are what I personally encountered in my trades between WEKU and STEEM. So nobody is sure about the “real” price of WEKU yet. Once it gets listed on exchanges it will be easier to establish its value in dollars then.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64432.28
ETH 2648.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78