You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Quick Chat: Insight Into Why Many Casual Social Media Users Won't Use Steemit Yet

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I think that Steemit has a few disadvantages for ordinary people.

  1. UX - Steemit is not sexy. is not a platform which is or could be popular so far. Steemit has no profiles, groups, and stuff like this. Steemit is fundamentally complicated for ordinary people. The white paper is written way that almost nobody understand.

  2. Only understandable thing is that you can get paid for content. What content? No matter what content.

  3. Founders are not very active in promoting of Steemit. This is the main thing why is Steemit struggling. Yes there is plenty of new users every week but less and less active users. Founders should hire a marketing and communication manager who will be responsible for promoting steemit around the globe. I like the videos with Dan and Ned talks in geek way to geeks. But for real growth is tremendously small initiative.

  4. As you might know that I wrote an article this Friday. (you should know because you up-voted it) the reason I wrote this post was chance to promote Steemit.
    https://steemit.com/steemit/@airmike/steemit-was-mentioned-on-webexpo-2016-in-prague
    I asked question to Evan Luthra (he has 800 000 followers on social media platforms) what he think about steemit front of the audience. I also talked to Michael Lopp - writer and VP Engineering at Slack,
    ( previous apple, pinterest) what he think about new way of social media platforms based on blockchain. This was my initiative. I went home earlier to let all of you knows about this opportunity . I needed something to show them. And result? 18 up-votes. 1x resteem. Even If I asked for resteem this post. My question is what the hell I can show those people when steemit doesn't work fundamentally ? I did something for Steemit. I did promot steemit but frankly I regret my decision, because I didn't prove that Steemit is good place to write.

  5. You mentioned that people do not care about video blogging but frankly, video has way brighter future on the steemit than text, I guess. Thanks to @furion and https://steemit.com/steemq/@furion/steemq-a-decentralized-video-platform-for-steem

Sort:  

Proper marketing won't happen until after this open beta phase is completed.

The beta tag is arbitrarily, and should be removed IMO. The platform is live, has people using it, works reasonably reliably, and requires investors to pour money into it in order to even function (otherwise rewards can't be cashed out). That is beyond beta. Beta does not mean that every conceivable feature that might exist in the future is already deployed. The tag serves an an excuse for why this or that isn't happening and no other useful purpose. If not immediately, then let's have a clear schedule and roadmap for what is necessary to end the "beta phase" and remove the tag.

Completely agree. It's not perfect but it's working well enough. Time to get serious.

I was wondering to see at least reaction of Steemit users on my blog. That is all I wanted to say. Yes, Steemit is not ready yet., but I am more afraid about behavior of users than technical features. thank you for comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60327.71
ETH 2568.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57