Why Steemit will fail

in #steemit6 years ago

We are not all equal.

I entered Steemit, like many of you, in order to make money. That's fine, but I got shocked to realize that often content that's not good enough get voted for, 'cause of bots, whales, so on. Content that hits hot page, is terrible. People vote, because someone else famous enough voted for it. Their opinions are shit, can't they think for themselves ? I hoped that Steemit will become bigger than Google, Facebook, Patreon... combined ! As things are going it will crumble.

I'm quitting Steemit. If you want this platform to succeed these are the changes you need to make:



  • Remove the option to follow someone.

If you joined Steemit in the beginning you have more followers than a new user. Why is that fair? His content might be better than yours. Why can't he earn more than you ?


  • Make every upvote equal weight

Wtf is Steemit power, wtf are whales, wtf are curators ? Each voice must be heard the same.


  • Make everyone anonymous.

If we don't know who posted what, we will only have our unbiased opinion on the content. Everyone will have an equal chance to show the quality of their content.

  • Remove Trending, Hot, Promoted pages

It biases us towards the quality of the content. We should form our own opinions. Improve search engine, so anyone can search only for the content they want.

Sort:  

I am sorry you are quitting. A widely used marketing mantra concerning Steemit is the following: "Come for the rewards and stay for the company". Do consider hanging around long enough to see whether you can find the 'good company' (for you) that will make staying worthwhile.

If you have not yet use the Google search function (the one that runs inside Steemit) to find posts by other people with interests like yours, do consider that. Also, I am finding that by getting outside Steemit and using the search engine DuckDuckGo.com I frequently get more thorough listings of relevant Steemit posts than the ones given to me by Google

I joined, because I wanted to make a change in artificial intelligence, so to present it to everyone, that everyone can learn it from scratch,even though they may not have the prerequisites(math and programming) I wanted it to teach it to them. But the reception was cold.

Hello again @ai-enthusiast! I believe that you and I (in my professional field) face a deep, Internet-wide, problem: our audience is intrinsically small, worldwide, so we will not find success in trying to develop an audience that looks to have a decent size by comparison with what most people would consider to be a decent size (for example, several hundred in Steemit).

Equally interesting, the ton of literature on the Internet about how to "drive traffic to your site" and here at Steemit about how to"be sociable and make friends" is of no use to us; because our audience is intrinsically small. IMHO!

I do not have time to go and learn AI programming but I can tell you I have an intense interest in the subject, particularly the new developments in Deep Learning. I understand that with Deep Learning the programming is not particularly complex, and the strategy is to have the robots teach themselves by encountering a very wide variety of experiences and being told which of their responses is the correct one.

I left the stock market entirely last fall (after many years) because I gave up on trying to fight the bots! That's another reason why I would like to learn some more about that technology.

Also there is a particular bot that I would like to get to serve me, and maybe you might think about helping to get it created since I do not have the time to learn to create it. I need a bot that will do keyword searches on the titles of new posts here at Steemit on the fly and ring a bell on my computer (Mac or PC) when a title comes up that satisfies my keyword phrases, which will often use complex Boolean logic.

Are you interested?

I'm interested, have you read the message I sent you on steemit.chat ?

Unfortunately, I need to delay getting over there for several hours due to the arrival of urgent stuff. TTYL!

Congratulations @ai-enthusiast! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63016.70
ETH 3028.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75