You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEMIT Newby...At the end of the day, will my well thought out, high-quality content even matter?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I'll try to help you so I'll tell you what I've learned.

I obviously posted at a high traffic time because within a few minutes my post was lost in the NEW posts rabbit hole within seconds.

No, you probably didn't post in a high traffic time... new posts always get lost within seconds on this site.

I did a lot of research before starting, but I want to know what I can do to make sure other Steemians see me.

Write comments that add value (I wrote a post about it here)... if someone sees you comment on them more than once (on different days).. they might even love you and start to comment on you and vote for you.

I think, that's the best way to use steemit.

Should I already have a following from some other platform?

I won't lie.. it helps if you have following on a platform before this one... Steemit is a social media platform... the one with majority usually (not always) wins... if you're not with majority then you'll have to depend on luck.. and that's unpredictible.

Is quality content really appreciated, or is it a matter of reciprocal upvoting and commenting? A lil bit of both?

Quality Content is very appreciated in the long term.... you see, when you find something good written by one person.. you want to see what else the person wrote... now imagine these two scenarios?

  • Most of the Posts of the person are well-written posts, that aren't copied from elsewhere (we can easily check so don't try to do it).

  • Most of the Posts of the person are posts with few lines, add NO value to community, full of memes and so on... it just happened that the post you first saw of him was good.... The more quality conent you make today, the more you get noticed better after few months from now.

If you found their posts don't have many upvotes/comments? you'll more likely to vote for the first person than the second one.

Steemit is Better than starting a new blog from the scratch

When you start a new blog (or youtube channel) from the scratch you'll face the same problems you're facing right here now, and actually this platform is way better as people can easily find your posts when you comment on them. unlike new blogs where you have to put links yourself... and that's frowned upon.

So What's My Advice To You?

  • Choose one field ( #crypto, #gaming, #life, #art... etc..) for your steemit account to focus on (it's ok to have 2-3 fields that you write about sometimes but...) most of your Posts/Resteems should be on that field.

  • Comment (and add value with these comments) on as much people who write about that field as possible.. be sure to have Posts about that topic on your page... most people check the pages of persons who write good comments for them. if they find your Post good too you might get a new follower.

  • Find chat groups on Discord or Steemit.Chat that talk about your topic and talk with them... friendship on steemit is the most powerful weapon. if you find a post that's very bad but has many votes? that's because the person wrote it have many friends.

  • well, keep writing good content... it WILL payoff in the end.... even if bad posts get upvotes here right now.. that still could change, and you should want to make this site better, not get more money without caring about being helpful.


Disclaimer: I'm still new too.. only two of my posts got good upvotes and that was mix of effort and pure luck... But I've talked to many people who have been here for a while and I can say this will help you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66683.89
ETH 3311.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70