How to catch a whale ? The big puzzle - Steemit guide for beginners

in #steemit6 years ago

whale boat ship art illustration agnes laczo art.jpg

In my opinion there are no whales to catch.
I had a good time the other day just reading the messages in some "whale's" walet. People try anything to get their attention or just simply get into their walet. I find it funny how desperate they can "sound", while their writing is nothing but a mess as it is. I wonder how much amusement the whale finds in it while reading all these messages. Maybe he doesn't read them at all.

When i received my first "bigger" vote, i was all over it ! I was so so happy and most importantly thankful. I wanted to say thank you for him so bad. Back then i did not know what is the way to do that. So you can imagine how bad i felt when i figured it out, and sent him a thank you note, and all of a sudden he did not vote on me anymore !!! :-(
I did not know what to think ! What did i do wrong? I was mad at myself for ever writing to him! :-)

Then i stopped thinking about it. It wasn't easy.
But you all know steemit is a nonstop learning experience, and me personally i am stoked when i learn something new. It is like a big puzzle i am putting together one by one , yet knowing it can never be finished.

I believe to order to do well here on steemit, all you need to do is give what you have. Not what you find out there on youtube and pinterest, but something original, with value in it. I think this is why artist, photographers do well here. And of course there are the "smart ones" i just call them that, who are so into coins and shares and whatnot, i am amazed with them ! Others i don't mention because i am not aware of them just yet ... i usually check out the artist here.

There is a lot more one can say on this subject, but i also think that having a post too long is not good. I don't read long posts, therefore i am assuming others are the same way. how silly of me :-) Anyhow, i would like to point out one more thing, i think people with a bad grammar needs to work on that real fast. Spammers i won't even mention.

I hope this little writing on this subject helps and inspires someone!

See you around!
:-)

hegedus 001 copy.jpg

Sort:  

Just started out here, this just seems like a more interesting version of Reddit + Facebook feeds with less whiny people

I don't really understand the whale thing, but I agree with you that steemit is an excellent platform to know and admire artists from all types... that's what I like the most!

me too !
thanks for commenting ! :-)

Hello @agneslaczo I felt same as you when someone higher than me voted. When I comment to him nothing.. :) But I think that a community here is very good. Best from Serbia.

thanks for commenting marko !
best wishes to you too!
:-) see you around!

I'm not sure how the whole whale thing works, all I do is share bits of my life, bits of me and that seems to be working well. I share what I have and that is experiences. So, I tell a story of what unique things have happened to me and create my own art work, then I post. Then I hope for the best. Occasionally I'm very surprised with the outcome and strive to add more content that is similar in nature, but even that is a crap shoot. All I have is me and my uniqueness. Also, this is actually helping more, I share the love in my heart. If I'm not feeling the love, people seem to sense that and the post doesn't go well. So I'll wait until I'm feeling the love and then write with my passion.
Much love and light,
X

same here, i post when i "feel" it .
thanks for commenting dear !
:-)

Anytime! Much love and light!
❤️💡
X

I'm new here too and also an artist. I love your honesty in this post about your frustration and disappointment. Best of all, I love that you stopped thinking that way and simply focused on sharing your lovely art work. I agree that it's not about catching the whales, but enjoying the community!

yes dear. i agree.
thank you for commenting!
:-) see you around!
i will check out you art !

I never chase a 'whale' I don't even focus on that other than what I am doing. Some people on Steemit are obsessed with the concept of catching whale votes and would do just about anything. I am not into kissing up hypocritically to anyone for anything. When I leave a comment its because I am truly compelled to do so and if I say something nice, it's because I meant it. Which by the way, you got my attention with the funny illustration, it actually made me laugh. Now this was an honest compliment, no kissing up. 😉

good comment :-) thank You !
and i agree with you.
as far as the illustration goes, i thought it was perfect for this post :-)
it supposed to be funny , and also i am more of an artist then a writer anyway :-)

I can understand that completely. Love the illustration a lot, so I was in fact on point, it was meant to make us laugh!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66209.23
ETH 3496.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.16