You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Top Five Most Relevant Witnesses On Steemit? Good Question

in #steemit6 years ago

Thanks for that rundown. I believe in voting, in a civic sense, but I don't believe in voting blindly. You've given me some good witness candidates to check out. Basically, I blog and curate. The mechanics behind crypto are obscure for me (as are the mechanics behind fiat currency). We need dependable watchdogs (witnesses?) to keep the machinery running smoothly. I think it's obvious that some players on Steemit don't operated in a way that benefits the community. Is it not the role of witnesses to check this behavior?
A few of the witnesses you mention I have voted for already. Others are now on my list.

Sort:  

I'm not entirely sure I'm qualified to answer the question about what the witnesses are to do beyond witnessing blocks. I do believe there is more they could do if they chose to. I think some are more apt to get involved in certain situations than others.

In the brief time I've been here, I've seen some take their own initiative, others seek and build consensus, and the rest pretty much remain neutral or more involved with their own behind-the-scenes work. It really takes time to try to see all of what's going on, and I'm afraid that I haven't reached that point yet.

And, as I alluded to in the post, I'm not looking to go to far afield to do it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60565.41
ETH 2347.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47