Another Example of Corporate Gouging

in #steemit8 years ago

 Yesterday, I dropped by my local drug store to pick up refills for a couple of supplements. I was shocked to find that the cost of CoQ-10 had more than doubled, on all of the several different brands on the shelf. The store had tried to hide the increase by offering two for one pricing, but the 100mg caplets were now more than I had been paying for 300mg caplets.
 I was out, so I bought some anyway, but resolved to buy them on the internet in the future.
 CoQ-10 is depleted by Statin drugs, and millions of Americans take it, to correct the unbalance.
 When I returned home, I found that the CoQ-10 price increase was universal, and due to one of the only two accepted sources for the ingredients had stopped producing it. It was dropped, supposedily, because the competition kept the price too low.
 I see a pattern here that does not bode well for the future. Government restrictions and requirements reduce the sourced for critical products. Then through mergers, acquisitions, or “agreements” the sources become vary limited... And the supplier has a license to gouge those who have limited or no choices but to pay the inflated price. Martin Shkreli's Daraprim, the EpiPen, and now CoQ-10, are just a sample of the growing power and arrogance of large corporate interests over our government and the bureaucrats that run it.   
 I fear, that unless the DC swamp gets drained soon, our republic will be lost. Those of us who live on the fixed income of Social Security, that we earned, will not be able to survive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62233.47
ETH 2998.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50