STEEMIT TIPS- Write as though you're gifting the words! (Closing in on 700 followers! ~250 new ones this week!)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I see a lot of new faces around steemit. I see a bunch of people that are willing to resteem posts, but they themselves aren't authoring that much (yes I'm lurking some newbie pages). If this describes you then you're losing out on potential rewards, and we're losing out on your perspective!

Take a deep breath and think about your strengths

Somewhere in your life of learning you've picked up some gems of knowledge. Everyday hints and tips like cooking, acts of thoughtfulness, or how to change a tire. You might have also been exposed to some philosophies that people in other parts of the world would not have experienced. There's value there, both for you and your reader. If you are self-conscious about your writing you gotta get over it. You get better with practice and the right folks will show up to coach you along where you need it. So, if you've been too nervous to post then gather some strength, forgive yourself if it's not as good as you might hope, and try to think of it as a gift to other people.

The universe provides

My friends think I'm insane sometimes because I'm willing to leave things up to the universe. This isn't about games of chance, but it's about a sense that the universe will provide the things you need at the time you need it. Sometimes that's a kick in the ass. At other times it's a helpful hand. My guess is that what you end up writing, at least some of the time, will be the exact thing someone else needs to hear. So, rather than focusing on perfect writing for a formal talk I'd suggest thinking about it more like "I'm going to give a gift of words to these people. I hope they like it!" If it's kindhearted, if the intention is set to help others, and if it's honest it's going to be well received.

Trust this as a supportive place

This place likes technical, but it doesn't have to be technical. Maybe talk about solving problems in a relationship. Nearly every human in the world struggles with that. You can make it personal. Did you struggle with something? Did you have a learning disability? Were you 25 before your first date? Find some laughter in a time you embarrassed yourself. You can share those things here. The community of this place doesn't tolerate bullying. So, post some struggle and maybe you'll find some folks that had a similar experience. It's likely that your story will inspire others. It's possible that some comments will help you feel like others have been there and can understand and support you in your times of struggle and self-doubt.

Gifts don't have to be perfect

Just remember to cut yourself some slack. It's a gift. Don't let the good be the enemy of the perfect. Breath deep, and give us all a gift.






Sort:  

Fantastic, inspiring post mate! You do yourself credit!

I am one of the members you are referring to and feel that I have something to say but am not sure exactly how to find the words I want or how to get started sometimes. I think your advice is spot on and know this to be the case myself that sometimes I should just start writing and see what happens. I have received lots of encouragement from other users, which I appreciate also. Hopefully I will get going soon but I am literally brand new to the blogging and social networking scene so not being too hard on myself.

Thanks again for the post buddy

You'll get there! You'll be great! That was well written :)

Thank you. Hope your day is going well buddy!

Another A+ post mate. Thanks for the insights. SK

Keep 'em comin' ! Congrats !!

Because of you're blog I've decided to do one for the first time. Funny thing is I had decided to do it as a gift to my children. Something I could leave to them as a legacy of nuggets of wisdom of things I've learned over the years. The good the bad and the ugly. How anachronistic this post is to my situation, in which I find not to be of coincidence.

Wow! This is awesome! I'm really glad to see that and what a wonderful way to start the day. STEEM ON!

Oops, that was to say synchronistic not anachronistic. Where did that come from????

Good thoughts, you are right that newbies need to take the time to post and add to the community. I'd suggest that people try to participate in ongoing community events, like the Steemit Open Mic. Those kinds of events can be really helpful in meeting your first few Steem friends.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62513.70
ETH 2949.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60