One Week Later: What it's like to be a beginner on Steemit.

in #steemit6 years ago

perlaside.jpg

Hola Steemians and visitors. I'm sitting here watching @joeparys and @spencercoffman videos to expand my knowledge of how to correctly do things out here in Steemit land. The deeper I get, the more I learn and the more I learn, the bigger the picture gets for me. Here's what I'm seeing thus far. It seems to me that Steemit is the next level, if you would. And that just like Myspace took AOL's spot and Facebook took Myspace's spot, as the place to be, Steemit will take Facebook's spot eventually. The big difference here is that instead of Tom being your first friend because it's his show, we all are the first friends because it's our show. It's basically on us to take it to where we want it

Unfortunately, I see some division in the ranks. I have to tell you, it's hard to recruit people into a divided army. We seem to stand together on some Steem issues, but there are kinks that need ironing out. I'm a brand newbian, so I can't really weigh in on matters just yet. Not to mention that this may not even get read. And I'm not a tech person so I am limited in that area as well. I know people though, and that I feel I can comment on.

I'm pretty sure that a lot of those who have joined and then left, did so not only because of making no money or getting no attention, I dare say that some left due to the wars that seem to be going on here. Wars always bring destruction. You guys need to find a way to make peace reign here if you really want to see this grow. People need security nowadays. There is so much uncertainty in the world today, they need to feel that we are sure that this is going to work.

Obviously those of us that are here are the fearless type. The ones who dare lead the charge despite the fact we can't see too far ahead and there may be a cliff. That's what is necessary to make something new and different into something common and familiar. Some have to scout ahead and clear the way for the rest to follow. That's us. We are the leaders of this movement. And we are preparing the way. Only if people come here and the first thing they come across is war, then they may not trust us to be leading them in the right direction.

elcamino2.jpg

A good example is the bot battle. Any who come across that and get deep into the comments could wind up running for their lives. Well, If they are in it primarily for the cash, and if they have some available, they will go that route and have that immediate ROI rush that seems to be happening. If we're lucky, they will also be talented content providers and thus will provide value for their buck. If not, then we're stuck with a money making machine with sucky content. If they are in it for the cash and have none, then they may stick around to see what happens. Again, hopefully they will be great content creators and find their home here. Now, if they happen to be serious content creators without cash available to bot, they probably won't hang around unless they believe in the system's ability to balance itself out. Maybe I'm judging harshly, but truth be told, I've considered searching to see if there are other possibilities because of what I've seen in those bot battles. I saw none of that intense cooperation I felt when I first joined and was sticking to introductory stuff. Instead I found people judging and being nasty and rude to each other, on both sides. It was quite the bummer. I'd try to find a way to steer newcomers away from that scene at all cost.

I have a lot of faith in this platform and a lot of the ideas I've seen expressed here. That's why I decided to write this post instead of leaving. And that faith is what will keep me here in the long run. I will at the very least post twice weekly to begin with. I have no bot cash so I'll have to count on organic growth to take me where I'd like to be.

I have to rethink my reasons for following folk. I pretty much started following others for commenting on my post. Or for following me. Thus my feed is filled with posts of people that are posting things that have little in common with my interests. On Facebook I would not have to unfriend, I could just choose to not see their posts. Here I think I have to unfollow, if I'm incorrect please let me know. I need to spend more time on the looking for like minds. Or I need to start bringing more like minds here.

Which brings me full circle. I would like to become a super Steemit ambassador. It could easily become my only topic of conversation both on and offline, but it's hard not to limit who I share it with. Reason being, I'm only looking for people who can handle the uncertainty here. People who are strong enough to handle both sides of the Steem coin. I think we're not ready for the masses. And we should be. Hell, we need to be. They need us. I'm new, but ready, willing and able. Like I say on my profile, I'm here to help. Tell me how.

sunsetme.jpg

Sort:  

I like your positivity about this platform! I feel the same. I am happy to upvote this post, resteem it and also follow you on your steem journey.

Wow, thanks for all that. Sorry it took me a week to get back. Having trouble with my computer. I think it's all these brownouts. Trying to stay positive. Hehe. Need to go write something for this week. Want to do at least one post a week. Thanks again. Paz y mas.

Despite your are new you are catching cons and pros really fast and get a clear picture. Only the time will tell. I am just being consistent and starting from myself.

Thanks for commenting. Sorry it took me a week to get back to you. I think you're 100% correct, only time will tell for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57971.70
ETH 2448.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34