OK I just flagged a poststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

I'm not one for flagging posts. I'd rather just move on and let a blogger carry on about their business and there is no need for any conflict over ideological differences.

But I have seen a post (resteemed onto my feed) that pretty much squarely blames trans people and LGBT people and disabled people for some of the more extreme ends of human experience and 'depravity'. It's a kinda "Isn't humanity ridiculous?"-post, it's quite funny. But not for me. Because I am these three things. I'm gay, trans, and disabled.

The post was resteemed by a Minnow Support kinda user I follow. And has been up-voted by a few folk I follow. I will need to correct who I follow. (Also. Question. Do your bots upvote regardless of content? Because I am definitely not going to use a bot if this is the case.)

So. I dunno. This is simply an observation of what I am seeing happening on Steemit this week. And a "I wonder how this will play out?". I don't intend to use this platform for activism at all. And I probably should ignore hate it when I see it. But. People are putting it in my feed. Which is incredible, considering how well I avoid this stuff elsewhere. I'm only a few weeks in really.

Is Steemit really the Wild West, or does anyone have my/our backs? We're just people living our lives.

Sort:  

I just used this image on another post on a completely different topic but seems appropriate here

I do not hold the flag against you, you were within your right, and good on you for making this post but also not singling out any user by name, more so that you are just making your point, better than that person would have done I'm sure.

Steemit has racists, very mean people, shitty humans, but also has great artists, fun geeks, and much more. It's just like the world up in this mug lol.

Hm. Thanks. Yes. I used the flag as the post was undeniably discriminatory and is not allowed on Steemit. But what real difference does it make? Thanks for your comment. I need to be more careful who I follow. :)

yes sir some bots vote up content no matter what it is and it drains your voting power you. There are some of us working on posts about Voting and how to use your voting power the what not to do and what to do with voting, we all have slightly different strategies we use but they are work but exchange bots are bad.

And FYI be careful with flags you don't want to end up starting a flag war with someone that you can't stand up against if their rep is higher than yours just ignore it and walk away.

Ok thanks. Yes I was a bit scared of Flagging for that reason. But still was the right thing to do. The post is against the rules. I don't think I would use a bot. It was something I am aware people do and might not be aware of the content they are interacting with. Thank you :)

In answer to your qustion about the pay for upvote bots, I think almost all of them just upvote without even screening the post/comment, this is unfortunate for Steemit, as it means all types of post/comment will get upvoted by bots.

Some of us on Steemit actually read posts and comment and upvote only what we like or think others will like or find useful.
I'm not human, (I'm an alien studying humans), but I do read post/comments before upvoting/resteeming/commenting. That's the way Steemit was envisaged , not a haven for bots as it is rapidly becoming.

Thank you space person. I am uncomfortable with the idea of a bot putting posts in my feed for this reason. They don't consider the actual content.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86