Creating Categories For User Blogs Will Increase User-Friendliness + Boost SEO

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Steemit Categories

I've recently joined Steemit and posted a few trading-related posts, which I found very easy to do. I've been trading for quite some time now (Forex + Cryptocurrencies) but I don't have one consistent trading journal. I'm now thinking to start a full-on trading journal on Steemit and then just share this across other platforms because I love how user-friendly it is and the layout presented to the visitors.

I've also built 100+ websites and I consider myself to be a highly experienced SEO Manager (Search Engine Optimisation), which I have been doing for just over 15 years. It is something I'm very passionate about so naturally I would want to post about this too.

If we talk about the other things I enjoy... I love cooking and watching movies.

I've been wanting to write up a product review of the new Pressure King Pro Cooker (5L) that I recently purchased because I think you Steemers would absolutely love it! - A curry that would normally take me 1.5-2hours to cook, can be done in as little as 30minutes in the Pressure King Pro - but I'll leave the juicy details for the actual review.

Once I begin posting about different topics, my blog page will look very messy. If a visitor stumbled across say a food-related post I did and wanted to read more, they would click on my blog and then find posts about trading, building websites and movie reviews etc and this could potentially deter visitors from staying on the blog.

Negative Impact Of A Messy Blog [SEO]

Google favours websites that focus on delivering the best user experience. Some things that fall under this category would include:

  • Organised Categories
  • Desktop + Mobile Optimisation
  • High-Quality Fresh Content
  • Fuller & More Recent Content
It is the job of us Steemers to create high quality fresh content and we're already doing a great job at this. Upvoting is a great rewards system ensuring we continue to grow the community and keep publishing fresh content.

The site is already highly optimised for both Desktop & Mobile viewing and page loading speeds are super fast, which is great. I won't go into the technical details because I don't want to keep drifting away from the main topic.

The site is currently lacking the ability to create Categories for our own blogs. This is critical as the site grows and users publish more posts. If visitors land on our blog pages and then click-away because of how unorganised it is, it will increase the sites 'Bounce Rate' which Google will see as an indication of bad user experience - the visitor did not find what they were looking for and have now exited the blog site to find that information elsewhere. This will negatively impact our search engine rankings.

Benefits Of Blog Categories

Keywords are a big part of optimising a webpage to rank on Google and having the keyword mentioned throughout the site, in the site title, url and content will increase the relevance of the page and help it to rank higher. For example, if I wanted to rank for 'steemit categories' I would want to have that phrase in my title, in my url and once or twice throughout the content.

By adding Categories, we can label those categories with our targetted keywords in mind, strengthening our chances to rank higher whilst keeping our content organised

If our content is organised, our category pages will show relevant posts and build keyword relevance, giving us many more opportunities to rank in the search engines and the 'Bounce Rate' would be significantly reduced as there is a higher chance of the visitor finding what they were looking for.

I do hope developers will allow this functionality in the near future - this is my first post that is not trading related and the start of my 'messy' journey. Feel free to share your comments below and vote for me if you agree with my post.

Sort:  

Thank you for the Vote + Comment, I will certainly take a look :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59596.75
ETH 2659.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45